64 comments on “A Place in My Past

  1. Lovely memories, Deb … I raised my family in a similar house … instead of cherry tree it had a gigantic willow tree beside it … the kids were always climbing and swinging in it … the house was build in 1900 and had a dirt basement … sometimes the original owners would come and visit … they raised 5 kids in that house and many stories to tell … they were happy to see, how once again the house was filled with life and laughter … we build a new house since … right beside it … will take some pics and send them to you, if you like … Be well, my friend … Love you, cat.

    • Sounds like a wonderful old house filled with wonderful memories as mine was.
      I use to get up into the tree, but was not allowed…Shh. 🙂 I had a small swing set under the cherry tree too. I swung so high once that by head hit a pointed branch and cut my head open..Ahh, badges of honor! My old house here was built in around the 1860’s and it showed it it every way.
      We had a sort of dirt basement too. But the wall were really hard and lumby. But mom turned it into a pets shop so she could earn her own living, but still had to work nights too. I remember once when one of the hamsters got loose and one night when I went down there with a flashlight I saw it an it was so big…really big. It’ had been eating all it wanted for the kibbles down there. hahha.

      I’d love to see pic of the house you all re-built. I’d do the same but our house we eventually tore down and used for commercial space.

      Thanks Cat…Love ya! xo

    • It does look a lot like the house you grew up in, but not on the inside. Yours was way nicer. My bedroom wall were to bad I could see the plaster slats. Don’t think with the nights glow that those walls didn’t spoke me with all the odd shapes. And in spot the walls were plastered over and over again…super lumpy walls. The memories were great though and I cherish every memory.
      Hugs ♥ xoxo

  2. Deb, i loved reading your memories of that dear house. You know what i also love? The cherry tree’s shadow and the absence of the tree. It really gives me a sense of memory–the tree not physically being in the painting…only its shadow. Beautiful post. Moving…

    • I’ll never forget that cherry tree as long as I live. I think I’ll even take the memory of it to heaven, Lord willing. 🙂
      Thanks Kathryn! I’m glad you enjoyed. xo

  3. I love how you captured the texture of the peeling paint on the clapboard siding. But I love the story behind it even more. This one has a lot of heart. And that shadow is really neat, too.

    • You must be right in the middle of changing themes. When I posted my comment above, all the background elements changed!

    • To get the texture I just lay my paint brush on it’s side, so it skips to give it that pealing look.
      I have a ton of memories from that old house, but didn’t want to bore you guys with too much yacking about it. Thanks Binky! I’m glad you like this one. This one means a lot to me too!
      Hugs xo

  4. This was a wonderful memory lane walk, thank you. The shadow of the tree, is simply perfect and the house reminds me of so many houses you see here in Texas once you get out of the cities. I suspect this is true across the country.

    • I wonder if there were only a handful of house styles back in the day when this one was built for the whole country.
      Glad you enjoyed my little memory. I was just thinking about the old cherry tree and one thought led to another….thanks Val! xo

    • Love really is all that matters, and we shared a lot of it in that old house, and a few spanking that I’m sure I had coming to me as well. 🙂
      Thanks you, my brother! 🙂

    • I really wish I had put more effort into painting this house, but hey, I can paint as many as I choose. But you are right though, love is what makes a home. The rest is just old boards and nails.
      Thank you for your kind comment, Teecee! 🙂

    • Thank you, Sue!…You still the best, my dear! Hey, hope you feeling well these day, I know I haven’t had a lot of time to come by and read your long posts lately, but you better know I love ya, just the same! 🙂

      • And i have for YOU XO
        Coziest love – like a big sister kind of
        guardian angel yes i think 🙂
        i would like to believe always that i have guardian angels in human form in my life ….
        my parents are in another city – and so yes ………..
        you are a guardian angel 🙂
        xx
        love you
        have a gorgeous day xoxoxoxoxo

  5. This is not just a wonderful painting Deb
    it has a very nice memory attached to it
    with nostalgia running through every line
    of your delightful description. I can just
    imagine you crawling along that roof and
    picking at those cherries, the adventure
    was a success with the cherry bowl full 🙂

    Your mum certainly told you off but at that
    time the cherries were calling to you and it
    was a very special time, but hey I bet that
    you didn’t venture onto that roof again 🙂

    Have a very sweet day today Deb and thank
    you for sharing your memories of cherries in
    the bowl, the old house with flaking paintwork
    and more importantly your safe return to the
    ground to enjoy the fruits of your mission 🙂

    Andro XXx

    • I had a ball getting them cherries from the roof. And them Bing Cherries were so big and juicy up there getting riper and riper waiting for me to harvest them….Mmmm good. It was worth getting scolded for it too! 🙂 😉 No, I never did do it again, I just got better at climbing higher up the tree…Shhh. I wasn’t really allowed to climb trees either but just couldn’t resist them cherries.

      Your welcome, my friend, but thank you even more for taking the time to read and commenting about it. It is a treasured memory of mine.

      You have a good day today, and hurry on back to your own posting, as I’m sure I’m not the only one missing your fantastic scripts.
      Hugs ♥ XXx

      • You are always so very kind and thoughtful
        Deb and thank you for being such a valued
        friend, hey I have subscribed to you on the
        Youtube, yes I have been faffing around on
        it and added some old videos that I did some
        time ago, the quality is a bit yuck but I still
        had a laugh doing them and will add more
        as and when I get the chance 🙂

        Save some of those
        delicious cherries for me 🙂

        Andro XXx

        • Thank you to for being such a great and valued friend of mine. Like I’ve told you before, “If you fell of my radar I’d be heartbroken.”

          My Youtube account. I don’t have much of anything on it except what I want to share. I moved them to my channel so the links don’t break when I post them…if that even works.
          I’ll have to go in and have a look so I can subscribe to you too, my friend, as I’d be most interested in your video.

          Cherries! Did you say, cherries?…I got some right here, fresh from the tree, some on ice cream of cherry syrup and even a cherry pie! Take your pick of enjoy all you want! I always share with you, my friend!
          Hey, go check out my post on Frazzie.

          Hugs ♥ XXx

          • Yes I will certainly take a look at Frazzy next
            and thank you for those cherries, they are very
            sweet just how I like them 🙂 🙂

            I joined Youtube just for a bit of fun really, but
            I had mentioned to Peter that I did some videos
            ages ago and he was interested, so they are on
            there now, but the quality is a bit rough as they
            were done on an older mobile phone 😦

            Have a nice evening Deb 🙂

            Androgoth XXx

            • I just watched a half a dozen of them, at least. You had my smiling really large, my friend! Has Peter seen them yet. I bet he’ll love them!
              Yes, Frazzie awaits.
              Hugs ♥ XXx

            • I don’t think many will have seen them
              as I have only just added them last night 🙂
              They look so much better on my phone
              but I don’t mind it’s just for a laugh 🙂 lol

              Thank you for taking a look at them 🙂

              Androgoth XXx

            • I had some more but they have been lost over the years, mind you I only started doing those in 2007 so only nine left, however I am going to add some more soon, it’s all for the fun of it you know 🙂 lol

              Andro XXx

            • How do those cartoony ones look? There is a video editor and I chose two on the cartoon format, on my monitor they look okay but I was wondering how the videos look on yours? 🙂

              Andro XXx

        • Cartoon type ones? You mean the one that carried shadowing around areas of your face that looked very cool…those looked great!
          Hugs ♥ XXx

  6. So nice, Deb! I LOVE how you’ve rendered those textures in the weathered wood… spot on!
    I was happy to hear your story about the cherry tree, too – because that’s another thing that stood out to me at very first glance… that incredibly shadow! And it’s all the more interesting now with the back-story! Wonderful!
    🙂

    • Layed my paint brush on its side to get weathered wood texture….thanks, Sig!
      Really glad you liked the story and the shadow of the tree to pull it all together. Thanks again! 🙂

  7. Thanks for sharing these memories, Deb.
    The painting is beautiful. Those lovely shadow makes me think of spring, somehow. 🙂

    • Well, the house may have looked sad, but within the walls was happiness…except for an occasional spanking…lol
      Thank you, and God bless you always! xo

  8. We’ve come a long way in what we have and many have slipped a long way from what we were.
    I lived in houses where you could have thrown a cat through the cracks in the wall and never ruffled his fur.
    I have sat and watched through the floorboards as the chickens walked under the house.
    I have more now and I try to appeciate it. We live in a nation where even the poor live better than most people in some parts of the world.

  9. I could agree with you more that the poor live much better now than back then, and in some parts of the world.
    Sounds like you also had your share of bad walls and floors.
    Thanks Bo! 🙂 xo

  10. Thank you for sharing your childhoos Deb 🙂 now I know more about you.
    Lovely painting too…monotone can be great sometimes.

    By the way…i like your new theme…simple but really good.

    • Nothing like a good ole happy childhoon memory huh, Soma. Trees were fun to climb especially when there was a prize for doing so…like cherry picking. 🙂
      Big hugs to you too, my sista! Love ya, xoxo 🙂

Leave a Comment

