31 comments on “Beach Finds

  1. Sand dollars are quite neat. I bought a couple when I was in Florida, but never found one on the beach. That’s a nice find. Don’t know about the starfish. And the granite? Maybe there’s a pirate buried nearby. I’ll have to tell Fraz so he can go treasure hunting.

    • Then next time I find a nice sand dollar it is yours.
      Fraz digging for treasure at my place? I sense a sink-hole coming on. And to think I thought the big treat around here were hurricanes. 😉 🙂
      xxx

  2. Interesting! 🙂

    I have never seen a sand dollar before and I have no idea about the starfish!

    As for the granite?

    Maybe it was used as hard core for a road – granite is the stone of choice apparently!!! 🙂

    Love and squishy hugs!

    Prenin.

    • Never? Well I’m glad I posted it along with the legend.
      Someone might come along that knows.
      On this island all the roads are made out of asphalt.
      Love and big squishy hugs to you too!
      xxx

  3. Never seen a Sand dollar before and I just loved this post and that poem.
    I love collecting pebbles and rocks from beaches and forests , kinda token from where ever I go and its such a happy moment when you find a rock which you don’t have in collection, so get the value of That piece of granite . 🙂

    • I had no idea that there were so many people that had not ever seen a sand dollar. I’m glad you got to see one today.
      Granite can be found at my house up north. I doubt it is worth anything.
      You ought to post your rock collection sometime, Soma. 🙂
      xxx

  4. I too have never seen or heard of the Sand Dollar so thanks for sharing! Interesting finds at the beach…I wonder if the granite is very, very old….

    • Glad you got to see one today then, Shree!
      I have theory about the granite. There has been many hurricanes over the years that hit landfall her on Hatteras Island (a big sandbar). It would not surprise me if some of the graves got destroyed to some degree. So I’m still thinking that is came from an old headstone. But like I said, it’s just a theory.
      xxx

  5. What a beautiful poem, Deb, and I have seen many sand dollars and starfish from spending a lot of time at the southern Calif. beaches in my youth. These are a nice group of treasures and I bet there is something under your 5th wheel! 🙂 Sending much love and hugs to you! xoxo

    • I didn’t write the poem…it’s a legend.
      I see most sand dollars when we take the ferry over to Ocracoke island. If there are any to be found in my area, then that would be the place.

      I’d like to think there is nothing under this camper except for the sandbar in which is sits on. 😉 🙂
      But I think Fraz is going to find out for me, and no doubt he’ll get my Dink, Chewy and Shadow in on the deal..maybe even my two dogs. 🙂

      Send you much love and hugs too, Lauren!
      xoxo

  6. I’ve never seen a sand dollar either Deb, but the story/poem was lovely to read. Your finds on the beech must add so much excitement wise as to what you could find next, maybe the lesser spotted Pen Pusher, now tat’d be a rare find methinks. hehe!! hugs aplenty to you and wishing you many more great discoveries xxxPenxxx

    • One of my greatest finds while living on this beach was you, Pen…a few years ago. I had missed you too when you too a leave for a while. But your back and all is well.
      Love and hugs xxx

        • I meant every word, my sweet friend! Please don’t go away again, or I’ll be needing those sun glasses.
          Much love and hugs, Pen! 🙂
          xxx

  7. Like Prenin and Lady Pen have already mentioned, I have not seen a Sand Dollar either but it looks great nonetheless 🙂 🙂

    I like your description of Mitch and his fishing, I can almost picture him checking the lines hoping for another fish for supper 🙂

    Have a lovely evening Deb 🙂

    Andro xxxx

    • Sometime he falls asleep watching then I have to wake him to tell him he’s got a nibble. But that really hasn’t happened in a long time.
      I like watching him fight the fish when it’s a big one!…One time his line snapped and he fell on his bottom. It was funny, and he was fine, though he was made because he fought for over an hour.

      Your too, my friend!
      xxx

    • Thanks Wendy, but I can only take credit for the find and what I wrote. The Sand dollar poem is “The Legend of the Sand Dollar.”
      Love and hugs
      xxx

  8. Great blog Deb, especially liked the poem on the sand dollar, long time since I have seen one of those, had to refer back to follow the poem, really beautifully illustrated
    Ian

  9. How very interesting Deb.. I have never seen this Sand Dollar before and loved the poem you added with it.. I love beach combing… I didnt get chance this Summer break to make a medicine wheel on the beach.. Maybe I got too caught up in my book this short break..Amazing Shell… Thank you for sharing.. And hope Hubby has a good catch 🙂

Leave a Comment

