59 comments on “Painting of Mom

  1. Yes, you’re right, she would have loved it, Deb and I’m sure she is happy now because I think that somehow she can see it! It’s a beautiful portrait…
    🙂
    Happy Monday, my dear!

  2. Deb this painting is so beautiful. It hold an aura of peace. Your Mom I think is well pleased with her remarkable life like capture. Excellent Deb 🙂 love and Hugs Sue X

    • Aw, thank you so much for your kind words, Sue! I believe she can see it and is very happy with it too.
      Love and hugs xx

    • It can be time consuming. My hand went numb quite a bit while working on it from working the mouse.. But all the effort was worth it to me!
      Thanks so much, Cha!
      xxx

  3. This is so beautiful, Deb, and she was a lovely woman. I agree with Sue in that it does hold an aura of peace and it is such an incredible likeness of your original photo. She would be very pleased…sending hugs, love and many blessings for a wonderful day..xoxo

    • Aw, thanks for all the kind words about my mom and the painting, Lauren…It means a lot!
      Have a wonderful day, Lauren…Sending you love and hugs too! xxx

  4. It’s a loving and fantastic tribute to your Mum, Deb, and as everyone is saying, (and I’ll echo ) she’ll be very happy with the wonderful portrait, and how you’ve enhanced it digitally…. for I too believe she can and will see it… hugs aplenty, talented friend. .. xPenx..

    • I hold my mother very close to my heart, and think of her often. She was a great mom, and person…everyone liked her.
      Thank you for the echo of the all the lovely comments, Pen!
      I’m glad you believe too, Pen!
      Love and hugs xxx

  5. I have no doubt that your mom would have loved this painting, Deb… it’s very impressively rendered indeed! I particularly like the catch-light in her eyes… you’ve really captured a genuinely warm spirit there! I know I’ve asked you before (I apologize – my memory is awful), but are you using Photoshop to create these digitally painted pieces?
    🙂

    • Aw, thanks so much, Sig, mom would be pleased to read your kind words, as I am. 🙂
      No, I don’t have Photoshop. I used my paint to do this painting and only used the mouse to guide me. (Here) is the link to the My Paint download if your interested.
      Thanks Sig! xxx

      • Now I’m even more impressed, Deb!
        If it’s not Photoshop I don’t know how people can work with it! I’m so used to the way Adobe has things set-up pretty much any/everything else reads like it’s an entirely different language to me! And I get confused easily, you know! 🙂

        • Thank you!:)
          But My Paint is so easy to use. You just open it up, pick a tool, pick a color and draw.
          I get pretty confused with new gadgets too, till I get use to using them. 🙂

  6. Excellent painting honey The old time photos never looked this good.Your mom would be proud of this painting.I know that she is smiling down on you.

    • Aw, thanks Honey. You know too that she is always smiling down on you. Even though you didn’t meet here, I know she would have loved you!
      xxx

  7. Beautiful piece Debs!!! 🙂

    You have really caught her in this one!!!

    Every day you amaze me!!! 🙂

    Love and hugs!

    Prenin.

    • Thank you, Mary! I really wanted to do something special for her. 🙂
      Have a great Memorial Day…hugs a plenty! xxx

  8. That is really beautiful, Deb. You did a super job. I’m sure your mother would have loved it.

    How you do anything this good without a tablet is beyond me. You really should treat yourself to one. I have a small sized one, but you should probably get a medium or large one. You’d be amazed at how easy it is to draw with a pen. With pressure sensitivity, you can paint just like you would with a brush, varying the line thickness with how much you press.

    • In some ways it’s easier than drawing with a pencil or pen. But I certainly would like to have a tablet one day. I have a feeling I would really like it.
      Thank you for kind words about my mother’s painting.
      Hugs xxx

  9. This is a true masterpiece Deb and what a beautiful painting you have created here my great friend 🙂 Your mom was a lovely woman if you don’t mind me saying so and what a wonderful tribute this painting really is 🙂 I like this one a lot Deb 🙂

    Andro xxxx

  10. This is so beautiful Deb. A work of art and love and feelings. I can’t believe how much it does look like a painting. Reminds me of the high school graduation picture of my mom, taken in the 50’s. It was color tinted which was apparently a popular process then.

    To think you did all of this from your own drawing? Just stunning!

    • It’s mostly about finding the right shades of color, drawing, blending and blurring out the hard lines.
      This one was taken at the same time my father had one taken. They use to be in black and white, then later my father took them in to get them colorized.

      Thank you for you kind words, Rach! 🙂
      xxx

Leave a Comment

