112 comments on “Recession

  1. Yep … right you are, my friend … and then again, I find I’m not scared at all … not for myself, that is …

  2. too many expenses which are getting too expensive!!!! its ridiculous.

    overall great piece deb..i loved the flow and it was very clear

  3. I have believed for some time now that yes, we are in a recession…. they just don’t want us to know…. lol. They must think we are plain stupid!
    Ed

  4. Deb after Ogden Nash you are the only one who wrote poetry on economy in current times so well….what a marvelous poetry on the times that today make us beggars living in highrise or where ever we are…
    toughtimes indeed but poetry like these make us smile even though it depicts the harsh truth…
    Hmm so where has this poet being hiding for so long….am so glad she decided to come out.. 🙂
    Big Bigger Biggest hugs to this lovely sweet poet ,painter and soul 🙂
    love ya 🙂

    • I didn’t know him so I Googled him….thank you for telling me his name.
      I’m glad it made you smile. I wanted this poem to speak what was really going on, but to bring others a smile anyway.
      Thank you for such a wonderful comment, Soma!
      I love ya 🙂
      xo

    • I think they quit and work only for themselves..lol
      I’m really glad you like this poem, Wendell. Reading this comment from you has made my day!…thank you, Wendell
      xo

  5. ALL I SEE IS THE BEAUTIFUL ORANGE SKY !!!!!! WOW …….
    SO LOVELY SO VERY LOVELY …….
    I CAN IMAGINE YOUR PAINTING AS A WHOLE WALL – A MURAL …………
    TO WALK INTO THE ORANGE SUNSET EVERYDAY ……..
    HAVE A BEAUTIFUL DAY
    FROM A WOMAN IN TORONTO THAT FEELS YOU ARE REALLY REALLY IN TOUCH WITH ALL THAT REALLY MATTERS IN OUR WORLD …..XO ME

    HERE IS A BEAUTIFUL SONG FOR YOU
    ONE OF MY FAVES
    XX
    C

      • EARLY MORNING ….XO
        WANTING TO LIVE FOREVER IN THAT SUNSET
        AND WHAT IT SAYS FIGURATIVELY TO ME ….
        !
        IT RISES AND FALLS LIKE THE HEART AND
        RIGHT NOW – I NEED TO REALLY HEED TO A CALLING IN MY HEART THAT IS SOFTER THAN SOFT ……….
        BEAUTIFUL POEM DEB …..
        MUCH LOVE AND SEE YOU SOON
        XO CAT

        • You will live forever in heave with Jesus, where you will see more beauty than your mind could imagine! But I love the that you love my sunset painting that much!!
          Follow your calling sugah!
          Thank you for the comment on this poem. But beautiful? I don’t know about that, but it rhymes pretty well.
          Much love to you too, Hon!
          Have a heart-felt day!
          Hugs, xx

          • !!!!! YES IT IS BEAUTIFUL BECAUSE IT COMES FROM THE HEART …….
            I ALWAYS SAY THE TRUTH IS ALWAYS BEAUTIFUL BECAUSE IT IS JUST THAT = THE TRUTH…….
            YES I WAS YESTERDAY …….
            YOU INSIGHTFULLY KNOW WHAT I WAS DOING
            OR NOT DOING
            I DID NOTHING – JUST LISTEN ———–
            HEART LISTENING ………..
            YOU KNOW EXACTLY WHAT I WAS LISTENING TO …….
            🙂
            I NEEDED THAT DAY OF JUST LISTENING …..
            I HAVE EVERYTHING – ALL OF IT ON AUDIO CD ……….
            AND THOSE FOREVER WORDS PUT ME ME BACK INTO MY PLACE .
            AND NOW IT’S TIME TO HAVE SOME REPOSE
            AND LISTEN SOME MORE AND BRING ON A DEEPER SENSE OF HUMILITY – NEEDING TO CULTIVATE THAT MORE ……….
            THANK YOU SO MUCH FOR WHOM YOU ARE
            AND FOR LISTENING WITH YOUR HEART .
            THAT ALEXI MURDOCH KINDA SAYS IT ALL …….
            🙂
            AND SO DOES THAT DAVE MATTHEWS SONG 🙂
            THANK YOU FOR JUST KNOWING ……..
            IT’S LOVELY TO HAVE A SISTER IN CHRIST ….
            XX
            CAT

            • When you told me yesterday you need to take time for you, I knew you meant you want time with Jesus. We need to quiet ourselves to hear Him. We need to lay our flesh down to lift Him up. Less of us…more of Jesus!
              I knew from the first time we spoke you were one of my sister in heaven…”we will know them by their fruits” Just think, Cat. We will know each other forever and ever.
              I love you!
              We see carnally with our eyes. We see truth with a our heart…a saved heart. But I knew you knew this. 🙂
              Have God Blessed Day!
              Love and Hugs, xx

            • AWWWWWWWWWWWWWWW
              YOU KNEW !!!!!!!!!!!
              I LOVE THAT YOU KNEW …………..:)
              LOVE NEVER FAILS ………
              IT JUST CANNOT XOXOXO

            • Yes, of course. Jesus will always show us His own…His love never fails and when we love as He taught us, our love never fails.
              I love it when you are so happy, Cat. You wear is so very well…you let the Light shine!
              Love and Hugs, xx

            • I’ve had a good day, though I think that my poem here caused some to think I was complaining. No complaints! We mustn’t be like that 20,000 now, right.
              I’m glad you had a good day with the kids. Kids are great. They’re so sweet, so pure when they are small. Do you work with small children or older ones?
              Love and Hugs, xx

            • !!!!!
              I KNOW YOU DON’T COMPLAIN …..
              IT’S NOT IN YOU .
              YOU WERE JUST MAKING A SOCIAL COMMENTARY …….

              I VOLUNTEER WITH KIDS IN PRIMARY AND JUNIOR CHOIRS SO AGES 6=12 ……
              🙂
              PS- I DON’T SEE YOU COMPLAINING ABOUT ANYTHING EVER – YOU GLORIFY ……….
              AMPLIFY AND MAGNIFY TRUTH AND GRACE XOXOXO

            • Aw, you’re a dear, Cat!
              Hey, 6-12 that’s a marvelous age group. I can remember how full of energy and ideas my son had when he during those years. He was going to be so many thing when he grew up and wanted to change the world. He knows now that can only change himself with the help of Jesus…bless his heart.
              Hey, I’m not all that all the time. Sometimes I get a touch of melancholia and write about it. But it’s my way of working it out of me. When I see the words I can talk myself right into a better me. Of course we both know Who really does that though our own faith. 🙂
              Your a sweetie you! God sure bless me some kind of much when He sent you over here to my blog!
              Love ya, Hon! ♥ Hugs to you! xoxoxox

            • AND GOD BLESSED ME TOO 🙂
              AMAZING GRACE TO YOU AND YOUR FAMILY ………………..
              AND OF COURSE WE ARE JUST HUMAN
              WE GET TOUCHES OF HUMAN LONELINESS AND MELANCHOLY AND SELF PITY – I GET SELF PITYING ALL THE TIME ……..
              THEN I REMEMBER THAT I AM NEVER ALONE …..EVEN THOUGH I THINK I AM …….
              YOUR SON SOUNDS LOVELY ……..

              YES AND CHILDREN – WELL ————
              THEY ARE MIRACLES AND I LOVE TO HEAR THEM SING ………
              🙂
              XO

            • Of course God Bless you!
              Yes, when we let our flesh get in the way…weird things happen. 😉 But Jesus knows how all of it feels. Nope, we are never alone. He said he would never leave us. When people thing that He has left them, what really happen was they left Him.
              He’s a sweetie alright. I was very blessed with him…he’s 34 now.
              A child sings is like an angel.
              xo

            • THAT’S SO RIGHT ABOUT CHRIST ………!
              THANK YOU FOR THAT INSIGHT ……..

              I GUESS I LEFT HIS HEART FOR A BIT …….
              BUT NO MORE …..

              WOW 34 YEAR OLD SON – !!!!!!!!!!!!! AMAZING 🙂

              YES A CHILD SINGS LIKE AN ANGEL 🙂
              SOUNDS LIKE HEAVEN WOULD SOUND LIKE ….
              XO

            • We all wander from time to time, but He always draws us back to Him. He won’t let us stray too long. He will snatches up His own into His hand. Some will though turn their backs on Him….they were never His.
              Yes, 34 and another that is 33. I also have 4 step daughters and lots of grandchildren. And yes, I’m am too young for all that, but I have it…lol.
              I’m off to make dinner. Nothing hard though. :-)… I like my time in a kitchen to be short. 🙂 😉
              Hugs, xx

            • WOW DEB …………..
              YOU HAVE SUCH A FULL LIFE …………….
              BEAUTIFUL HEARTED WOMAN ……
              INSIDE AND OUT ,……

              YES I THINK I WILL ORDER PIZZA TONIGHT
              FOR FEAR OF BURNING THE FOOD ……
              THX FOR TODAY …….
              AND KEEPING SO CLOSE ……..
              SUE CHA SOMA AND YOU …….
              SOMETHING SO UNIFIED TODAY ……….
              🙂
              LOVE TO YOU AND ALL YOUR FAMILY ……..

              AND YOU HAVE MY EMAIL IF YOU EVER WANT TO WRITE – ITS ON THE GRAVATAR THING ……… 🙂
              LOVE YOU …….
              WHOM YOU ARE ………….= HEART HEART HEART …….
              🙂
              XO
              GOODNIGHT XO

      • Yes, and all good things that come to us come from Him.
        Pizza sounds good. That’s going on my menu this week or next for sure.
        The only people I seem to see these days is my husband dogs. The rest of the family is spread out over the United States. But I have my son coming for a visit this summer.
        Okay, I think for sure I’ve burned dinner. Maybe I’ll have pizza with you…lol
        Love and Hugs, xx

  6. It’s sad Debbie. I hope, that recession will pass finally. Here also prices are bigger day by day…

    No matter what have a wonderful day.
    Hugs,
    xx

        • Thank you!
          We can’t be online blogging all the time….life calls. 🙂 😉
          You have a most wonderful day, Sabina! 🙂
          Hugs, xx

        • I am. The flowers I see from all the April showers are so beautiful too! That’s why I don’t mind the April rain…I know what it will bring us. 🙂
          You enjoy spring too. It doesn’t seem to last too long…short like Autumn.
          Love ya!
          Hugs♥xx

      • My one rhododendron started blossoming. It’s only one flower now, but I enoy it. And I have some small “field” of lilies of the waley, which started blossoming too 🙂

        Love you 🙂 I gave up with that heart ❤ 😉
        Hugs,
        xx

        • I love rhododendrons…so beautiful! I have two back at the house….not there to see them bloom this year though. Here I have vegetable and herbs growing on the deck. Tomato, Bell Pepper (green and yellow), Jalapeno, Chive, Basil, Thyme, and Parsley. Maybe you could take a pic of your beautiful rhododendron and post it for all of us to enjoy sometime. I’m sure every one would love it….I know I would.
          Hehe. You are not suppose to ever give up…just take a break and go back to it some other time. 🙂 😉 It’s not important though. It is more time consuming to do for me, and slows me down when I could be off to someone else’s blog to leave and over due comment…lo
          Love you too! 🙂
          Hugs, xx

      • 1st started blossoming purple rhododendron, but I have also light violet, and light pink. I bought them last year after blossoming, so I’m not sure colours. Soon I’ll know the truth 😉 Then I’ll try to take some pictures 🙂

        Hugs,
        xx ❤

        • What a lovely contrast the light violet, pink and purple with be in full bloom. I sure hope the pictures turn out well. They would be so uplifting to see. Especially on your blog that is so full of positive messages and energy!
          Hugs, xx

  7. We’re in a double dip recession here in the UK, so prices keep going up, but the income doesn’t keep up with it! 😦

    They’ve changed the way they calculate inflation so we don’t get as much and food gets more and more expensive…

    Love and hugs!

    Prenin.

    • Sounds just as here. Prices up, income doesn’t catch up.
      Thanks for commenting, Prenin!
      Love and hugs, xx

  8. Very true message in this one Debbie. Uhh, I feel like going on a rant talking in that topic but I don’t want to write an entire book in a comment box 😀
    Good writing my friend

    • OMG. I could not talk about politics if that’s what you meant…I’d go bananas! I’m glad you like it. With me reading your poems, Soma’s, Laurens, Eve’s, Wendell’s Poetry, and so many others, I hope that one day I’ll be able to get better at this form of art. Meanwhile, I’m mostly having fun.
      Thank you for the comment about the poem, Scott…much appreciated coming from a wonderful poet as you!
      xo

        • I had much fun creating this one!
          Thank you, Scott, not just for the comment, but all your support!
          Hugs to you, my friend! xx

  9. All the world is in recession. It will change. Nothing lasts forever. Meanwhile we must enjoy the little every things. And keep making art!

    • That’s right, Nuno, which is why I thought I’d have a little fun make this poem. I’m working on a painting too….it frees up my mind. 🙂
      xo

    • Sorry, Krystiana, I was not able to translate that one too well, but I could see you said something about the world and lies.
      Thank you for commenting.
      Hugs, xx

        • Thank you so much, Sabina! I used Google translate but this time the translation came out strange and I didn’t want to assume her comment.
          You’re such a good friend!…thank you!

        • Yes, I agree! More often than not I’m left to trying to figure out what someone is trying to say to me based on what I posted.
          Thank you so much for helping me. I don’t like not be able to respond to someone that was kind enough to leave a comment.
          You’re the best, Sabina!
          Love and Hugs, xx

    • Sabina helped me with the translation….bless her for that!
      Yes, Krystiana, the lies are every where.
      Thank you!
      xo

  10. Sounds like this little piggy went wee wee wee all the way home 😦 Same thing in Oz. Government has just introduced a carbon tax so everything is going up.

  11. Deb, this is so well written and expressed and what we’ve all been feeling! I’m so glad to be reading your thoughts, too, my friend! Great writing and can’t wait for the next one! Hugs! xo

    • Is it really?! I just mess around with poems. I have no training in this at all, but do have fun with them. I have a few others I’ve made. Some are fun and silly, but I like them anyway. Maybe I’ll post them up sometime.
      Thank you so much, Lauren!
      Hugs, xx

      • Yes, it is, Deb, and I don’t have any training either, so that makes two of us! I just write from the heart and stop breathing every time I click on the “publish” button! Keep writing! xo

      • Thank you, Lauren.
        Oh my, that’s just how I feel when I click the publish button. I have to tell myself to breath…lol
        I must have dozens of silly poems I’ve written before. I just may post them. Some of them make me laugh, but my hubby just looks at me, shakes his head, and says, “I don’t know about you. ” lol
        He says I let my mind wander too much. But I don’t.
        Thanks for coming in to reply, Lauren. I always love your visits.
        God bless you, and hugs, Copper for me. xx

    • Yes, it’s sad, but we must keep plugging along doing the best we can till it comes to full circle again.
      They are lie when they say it’s getting better.
      Thanks Bob!
      Hugs, xx

  12. Deb, you have captured all of it within those lines of that poem.. excellent.. Yes we are at the bottom end of the spiral. And it will unfortunately Fall even further.. But I also know this has to happen, for we cannot keep up this system we have created and the Greedy ones in your Picture, 😉 Have to Go.. And then the only way forward is UP… Heres to our Unity of thought.. Keep your thoughts Light… try not to get caught up within its Downward Pull…
    People always come closer together when they have to Help each other in a Crisis.. We ALL of us will need Each other very soon… keep smiling.. and have Faith.. ALL is as it should be..
    Love to you ~Sue xx

    • I really only intended to create this poem for people to laugh, but most seem to think I’m feeling down. I’m not…really I know this has to come full circle, and will get a bit harder till then. I know to keep my spirits up and to help other around me to get through a crisis…even all of us here on WP will need each other more than ever as time moves on. One thing I do know for sure though, Sue… I can always come to you if I loose my head and my spirit weakens. You always know how to get my head out of my…you know. You have brought to me a big smile and a lifted spirit just for thinking I was hurting and you tried to help me…You’re a good friend and a good woman, Sue!
      God Bless you! Love and Hugs, xx

  13. I’m so sorry for you Deb 😦 And for the other people everywhere. I’m so sad when I hear some people commit suicide because of that. Life’s hard. As a young woman I’m really worried about my future and of course the others’.
    But there’s still hope and… revolution! (lol) Ahhhh Yes, I’m French.
    Unfortunately there’s always worse. I’m very angry about what’s going on in Syria lately… I just don’t understand how ‘we’ can let so many human beings die… Seriously!! 😦
    Too many people suffering everywhere..
    Okay now I should stop. So…
    now you understand why I prefer to paint Wombies and funny characters. 😉
    XOXO

    • Sorry for me?! For heaven’s sake why. I’m okay, but we all feel the crunch one way or another. I just thought I’d write about it. If I get to hurting or something I will shout out or something, but good today! You’re such a sweet, kind-hearted love bug! But seriously, I do agree, there are many hurting so bad right now they can barely see straight. We must all stick together and hang in there. Things like this will make full circle. We been there before, and we came out of it. We’ll come out of this one too.
      I love to paint Wombies too! Hey, I just realized that Binky hasn’t been here today….What’s up with that?…lol
      I’m burning my neglected dinner…gotta run.
      Love and Hugs, xx

  14. I can predict something about the future, Deb! Everyone’s gonna turn vegetarian. I’ve always been disgusted by meat so no problem for me ;)… lol I am already a vegetarian by the way. (Yeah I know, I have super powers… Binky’s gonna come and write something, I can see that 😉

    I forgot to tell you how much I love this poem, Deb. It’s inspiring and beautifully written. And the pig= very cute 🙂 So, bravo and thank you!

    • I can do without meat too, but my hubby is another story…lol
      Yeah, Binky usually shows up in the late evening.
      OMG!!! You noticed my little pig painting. It was a quickie, but I still painted it!…thank you, Cha!
      Hugs, xx

      • The best always comes late!

        I use my piggy bank for chocolate, but don’t tell anyone! It makes fro very welcome withdrawals.

      • I can remember when you use to come first. 🙂 😉 Biblically, the one who is last will be first.
        I use my piggy bank for…I’m thinking. The only piggy bank I own it the one up there I painted and we both know what I used it for.
        Nope, not a word, nor hint.
        Thanks for commenting, Binky!
        Hugs, xx

  15. Love the poem, Deb! hits the nail on the head. esp when you are on a fixed income and can not work IF you can find a job to make some extra cash… makes you really think on every purchase.
    I am so tired tonight ( did a bit of garden pullling & had a hard PT session yesterday) it took me forever to sign into my account! plus I took a 1/2 hour snooze earlier… lots of pollen is probably contributing too. Hugs sweetie! have a great weekend. ~Faythe ~

    • You got that right, Faythe. Once retired it can make things a bit tougher…I hear ya.
      Don’t over-work yourself in your garden, Faythe. I know you love it and want to tend to it, but you need to reserve some of your energy for your PT so you do better. 1/2 hour to login to Blogger. Why don’t you just transfer that puppy over here to WP…I’m sure you like it over here.
      Pollen, it doesn’t get to me that much. I sneeze from time to time, but I just live with it…it’s go away. Sounds like it’s making you tired and run down a bit though. You take care of yourself and remember what I said about over-working yourself.
      Thanks for coming in tonight…It was nice to hear from you.
      Love and Hugs, xx

  16. So true, fits with Australia too. We are getting the Carbon Tax soon so prices will go even higher. It won’t achieve anything as far as pollution is concerned, just make it harder for everyone. Stupid incompetent politicians!!!

    • Sounds as crazy there as it does here, Tony!
      Yes…incompetent politicians!!!
      Thanks for commenting!
      Hugs, xx

  17. Well, Deb, things can only get better… although at times that doesn’t seem the truth, it is really the only way we should be thinking. Great poem by the way, and the piggy bank looks so sad…

    • Fortunately, I’m still doing okay, but this is not anything that affects only me…it’s everywhere. Things have to go full circle.
      Thanks Tom, for your fine thoughts on my poem.

    • Oh Andro, there you are! I’ve been waiting for you. And so so worth the wait too…what a nice compliment about my poem. It’s a bummer that it’s true though, and realize we are all in the same boat these days…and for a good number of years so far too.
      Thank you for your fine thoughts and the lovely gift. I will place it on my gifts page straight away.
      Hugs ♥ XXx

        • Ah, I’m always happy when I have you around my space. But yes! I will be happy this evening and throught the week.
          Now, to dip into this fine box of chocolates you left for me….thank you. I shall put place this on my gifts page as well. 🙂
          You’re the best, Andro!
          Have a super wicked night, my friend!
          Hugs ♥ XXx

          • Hey just watch out for the Vampires
            as they will not only delight in biting
            on your nexk, but they will also eat
            all of your chocolates too 🙂 lol

            Be good now or else? 🙂

            Androgoth XXx

            • I’ll take very good care of the there wolf, but he ain’t getting my chocolate…it’s mine, all mine. 🙂
              Thanks so much for a great visit tonight, Andro!!
              Hugs ♥ XXx

            • Thank you, Andro!!
              I took a break to watch Friday Night Smack Down….good night! And had chocolate too! 🙂
              Hugs ♥ XXx

            • I didn’t know that you enjoyed wrestling, I guess it’s all those hunky males jumping around in spangled trunks and being a tad wicked in the ring 🙂 lol

              Have a lovely rest of evening Deb and now I am going for a cup of coffee and to feed my newly adopted cat 🙂

              Androgoth XXx

            • lol..your too funny, Andro! Doesn’t do a thing for me to see a guy in speedos. I’m a wrestling fan though. Hubby tried to get me interested 10 years ago, but I didn’t care for it. This year I took an interest. And I got to tell you. It was great to watch Sheamus beat Bryan last night with one bandaged-up arm after Bryan and De Rio tried to take him out. Sheamus not only won the match with Bryan, he hurt big cry baby Del Rio…haha, it was great!!
              You got a Pals page with this kitty, I’m going to head over there to look for name.
              Well, by now, I hope you have a great afternoon. I went to dream-land right after my last comment last night.
              Hugs ♥ XXx

  18. By the time I got here, I forgot what I was going to say. Oh well, have a chocolate or two, and everything will seem better.

  19. I have a poem which I thought I would put up today, but never got to it. I shall have to put it up over the weekend. Excellent poem which touches on so much of what is wrong.

    I hope you are having a great weekend, Deb.
    {HUGZ}
    Red.
    xxx

  20. My, My, My, are there no end to this woman’s talents. Beautiful artwork and now poetry too. The economy depresses me, wouldn’t that make it a depression?

  21. Fabulous poetry Deb…what an excellent read.
    It is the same here, everything is becoming so expensive, one thing after the other.
    It seems new ways found out to benifit who I wonder…

    Have a good week hun..sun shinning over there..?
    Weather had been good here..though cloudy today.
    Much love Traceyxx

    • Hope you had a great celebration, Tracy!!
      Yes, a bit more each day and week.

      Rain today, has a bit over night too,
      Thanks for stopping in and leaving such a kind comment.
      Love and Hugs xx

Leave a Comment

