106 comments on “Getting Ready

  1. Yes, you’ve captured the early morning feel very nicely, Deb – and the cold! When I look at the painting I can feel the cold winds coming in from the sea, but being refreshed and invigorated by them. I love that feeling on the beech!

    • It can get a bit nippy on a shoreline when the sun is not shining in Hatteras. And it the winter there…unbearable cold wind.
      I love the feeling on the beach too. One day, maybe I can live there all the time….God only knows.
      Hugs, xx

  2. I love walks like that! No one else around, the wind clearing my mind, enjoying the peace and appreciating the beauty God created. The ocean is my favorite place to walk, the smells, the waves crashing, the salt air blowing in your face making your eyes tear. And always new treasures left behind when the tide recedes.

    I love the picture, I could almost smell the ocean. I’ll miss seeing you and your comments but I guess if you really have to do other things I’ll have to live with it; but I don’t have to like it!!

    ((((((((((( Hugs)))))))))) if I was closer I’d help you! 🙂
    Carrie

    • I’m not going to stop blogging and commenting on other peoples blogs. I’m taking my laptop with me. I share “whatever,” from there too…like last year.

      I know just what you mean about the walk on the beach…I could not have describe it better, so thank you for doing that!
      I hope you got your spam issue fixed, Carrie!
      Love and Hugs, xx

  3. I love this windy/cold feeling in your painting. That’s not something you think of first when you think of a beach walk, but those walks can be just as good as the sunny ones.
    Have a good week.

    • I’ll have plenty of warm walks on the beach, but when I first get there in the early spring it’s still a bit chilly taking those walks.
      Thanks, Hanne!…You have a nice week too!
      Hugs, xx

    • Thank you! But you will hardly know I’m went since I’ll still be blogging there as well. But for the next few weeks I may be a bit more apt not to be online as much for each day will be a bit busier than the day before.
      Hugs, xx

  4. Deb, i hope you have a lovely change of scenery and routine. By the way, i dig the painting. It looks like it’s chilly out there, and maybe that’s why she appears to be walking briskly. Either that or she has something on her mind. A solitary walk has sorted out many a dilemma…

    You be well 🙂

  5. Wow! Beautiful as always. I should start commenting in French so you can see some changes ’cause I always write the same things Ahah But I really mean it! 🙂

    Anyway, have fun on Hatteras Island! (Thanks to you, I know now it exists! 🙂 )
    I also have something for you!… An award! Here’s the link: http://wp.me/p1PkGU-77
    Voilà Deb!
    Big hugs!!

    • Aw….I like what you say to me…it’s doesn’t sound all the same to me. Besides, I don’t understand French. 🙂
      Thank you so much for nominating me for the award, Cha! Hugs, xx

  6. I wish to live close to the sea. Sound of the sea waves is calming me down. I like your picture. It’s awesome. 🙂
    Have a nice rest of the day 🙂
    Hugs,
    xx

    • You and me both, Sabina! I would love to live there, but am very grateful I get to go for the season.
      Thank you for the comment!
      Hugs, xx

  7. Not that I like you being gone but I think the break will inspire you.

    BTW..thanks to Tony, I now have an email subscription on my site. woo hoo.

    • I’ll still be blogging while I’m there…You’ll hardly even know I’m in a different place.
      Thanks for the heads up…on my way now to get subscribed by email.
      Hugs, xx

  8. Then, you will be in Hatteras Island… Have fun there and keep posting and commenting if you have chance. I’ll miss you!

    Cheers!

    • You won’t have to miss me while I’m there…it’s the getting ready to go there, the travel, and of course the unpacking and getting our service off vacation status, which should be done when we get there, but last year they messed up big time.
      Thanks for the comment, Nuno!
      Hugs, xx

  9. Hi Deb , you will certainly be missed dear friend but wishing you a vgreat vacation and hoping it will be better than the one last year ,make sure you take plenty of pics, now I have to google your island to see where you will be.
    Cheers and happy trails
    Ian and Emu

    • Ian!…you haven’t been reading! I will still be posting from there as always.
      Last year was great, except for Hurricane Irene…that is always a bit rattling. 😉

  10. Hope you the best Deb, relax, walk in the sand, whatever it takes to give you to recoup of the everyday things….. Be safe, and stay healthy! Talk to you later.
    Ed

    • Thank you, Ed! I always love being there, but I love it here too! I will be sure to embrace my time there, we all will…You’ll still be hearing from me there.
      Hugs, xx

  11. Don’t get washed away with those waves! They look rather ominous.

    It seems like you just got home a couple of months ago! I hope your planning and packing and everything goes well without any glitches. You’ve got an extra dog and Wombies to think about this year.

    • She gets too close and she would…lol
      It does seem like we just got here, and that’s how it feels when we have to leave there too. 🙂 It only goes to show you just how fast the time went since the first week of November.
      Lots of things to do, and much to pack up. The chocolate, wine gums and spam will take up a lot of space too…can’t leave it here for the house sitter….Dink and Tink wouldn’t hear of it. They want fresh when we get back here….can’t blame them for that.
      So far all is going quite well. Got a lot done today and was able to reply to comment here pretty quick, but was not able to make it to see all my friends blogs. But I’ll make it up to them all.
      Hugs, xx

    • Mommy said I was being a bit difficult today because I had decided I wanted to bring all my cloths. But she said if I would fill only one suitcase and one accessories bag, that she would make me some new cloths after we got there on a rainy day, and make chocolate and peanut butter cookies…..So I agreed. I also told her I was sorry for making a fuss and that she wouldn’t have to do all that for me, but she said she would anyway just because I apologized to her.

      • Mommy’s very creative, so she should be able to make you any new clothes that you need on the island. Have fun packing and preparing! You’ll be on the island in no time! (Seemingly less time for us older ones.)

  12. Hey Deb have fun 🙂
    what a lovely painting ….walking on the beach absorbing all the breeze and letting the salty air bring in more stories from far away lands….
    hugs n love 🙂

  13. Lovely painting, Deb… I think it would make a wonderful book cover! And whoever writes that book should get you to illustrate every page, too!
    Best of luck with all the packing, Ms. A… I know how stressful all that can be…
    I hope you have a very nice trip!
    🙂

    • Done packing and the travel was over by Thursday night. Now we are unpacking….still. And getting things situated. Much cleaning to do for the camper sitting since November.

      That is just about the nicest compliment I’ve ever heard….thank you so much, Sig!
      Hugs, xx

  14. This reminds me of a lonely day, the day when it seems like there is no one else in the world but you. Thanks for sharing and I am hoping that this week will be a great one.

  15. Don’t even worry about what’s going on in the blogosphere, just enjoy the island and have those coffee breaks whenever you get the chance.

    • Well, I’m not worried, but I do like to stay in touch with my friend that are so loyal to me.
      Thank you, Posky!
      Hugs, xx

  16. Happy, safe travels, and think of me while on the beach! Heading to Panama City Florida this weekend with my soon to be High School graduate daughter, and friends. I really could use some R and R with everything that has been going on as of lately.
    Nice painting! It’s kind of mysterious and dark, makes you wonder what the story is behind the painting.

    • Just now getting the chance to reply. I hope you had a great weekend in Panama City Florida, with lots of R and R.

      The story behind the painting is just a representation of myself taking a walk on the beach early in the morning before others arrive, and on a cloudy morning at that.

      Thanks for commenting, Ryan!
      Hugs, xx

    • P.S. I have the same problem lately trying to keep up with all the blogs & comics I read. I feel bad when I get behind because everyone makes such an effort to keep up with all my posts. I guess spending time at the gym to get fit comes at a cost to my online time. But considering the health benefits it’s a worthwhile trade off.

      • Your health is first and most important over all activities, Tony! Most people understand about the getting behind thing. I think we all get in the same boat when it comes to getting behind. We’re just one person with many blogs that we follow. Then of course there are the new people that show up that we don’t want to neglect…..We’re only human my friend!

        Health first!
        Hugs, xx

      • Aw…there just little beggars aren’t they. Glad you remember to give a them a hug! Just gave my two hugs as well.
        Hugs, to you!
        Deb xx

  17. Well now I was going to mention about that gorgeous long hair hun 🙂
    Beautiful picture Deb..and what a treat to go on vacation again..lucky you.
    I am sure you are looking forward to it imensly.
    Will it be nice weather out their too..?

    Big hug Traceyxx

    • Nope…I have short hair, and am about to get it cut since it hasn’t been cut since I was here last. I’m rather fond of the way my hair dresser does my hair here.

      We give up a lot though out the year in order to come here. We even keep it a bit chilly on the main floor at our house. The finished off basement stay pretty warm though due to the pellet stove….It throws out a lot of heat.
      Didn’t buy any art supplies this last year either, among other things….but it’s all worth it to come here.
      Love and Hugs, xx

  18. A fine effort here Deb
    and thank you for calling
    by with the graphic, I
    have just added it into
    my gifts page 🙂

    Have a lovely evening 😉

    Androgoth XXx

    • Thank you, Andro!
      I always hope I pick something out that you would enjoy enough to keep as a memory! I do that same here….I was inspired by you!

      Thank you!
      Hugs, XXx

    • Come on out and visit us on the Island and you can walk it for real!
      Thank you for such a lovely comment, VW!
      Hugs, xx

    • I saw this comment of your the other day and wrote to your email right away. I hope I helped you enough to get it all sorted out. I’ll be checking all my friends blogs soon…I hope. Right now I’m trying to get caught up here.
      Hugs, xx

    • Thank you, Kroten!
      This is where we were last year when I did that painting of you in a dream…remember?
      Hugs,
      Aunt Deb xx

        • It is Kroten…my home away from home. Actually, we’re here longer than we are at home.
          Thank you for visiting your Aunt Deb today, my sweet Kroten…you made my day!
          Hugs, xx

      • It can be very taxing…I have to sacrifice much all year to afford to pay for the camper slot rent.
        And….I forgot to bring my art supplies, so if I can get any before June I will be able to get them from the house when we go back there for a few days then….it’s all good. I can still do digital art if I want.
        Hugs,
        Aunt Deb xx

  19. I hope you are having a lovely time. The painting is lovely. Not thing one saying a representation needs to be all details and no imagination 😉
    Stay safe,
    Red.
    xxx

    • I will be having a lovey time once we’re all situated here and the temps warm up a bit more. Right now, we are working on getting some veggies planted in pots on the deck.
      Thanks Red!
      Hugs, xx

      • Oh, that sounds delightful! I am ready for planting myself, but need to wait until after I return from my daughter’s wedding! Enjoy…and take loads of pictures! xxRed.

    • Thank you, Tracy! Hoping to have a fine time this year, and hoping we don’t have any hurricanes too!
      Love and Hugs, to you my fine friend!
      Deb xx

  20. Well you are still AWOL so you are either
    on your holidays enjoying the sun and having
    cocktails on the beach or you are feeling off
    colour? I hope it is not the latter Deb…

    Have a lovely rest of weekend now 🙂

    Androgoth XXx

    • Remember Andro when you first met me I was going to the beach everyday?…Well we are back here again on Hatteras Island for the Spring and Summer like last year. Right now we are still getting situated and waiting for the weather to get a bit warmer though. Still have much to do around here. Cleaning up of the camper, planting some veggies. Yearly dog shots, yadda, yadda.
      Thanks for checking in on me. And when I can get caught up a bit more around here I will be back to my blogging and visiting again.
      Hugs, xx

  21. Are we there yet? Are we there yet? Are we there yet?
    Yay!! You’re there.
    Now you can relax soon and get back to your painting & things.

    • Yes, we are here now! Now you and Winky, Twink and Fraz can have a wonderful time while you stay in your beach house…which may get expanded if I can get my hands on some oil pastels too. Don’t forget, Dink and Tink will be visiting you as long as you can handle the company…just let me know when you tire of them. And you also know, of course you know…your the one that picked up Coco and Vanille via rocket last night. You can see why I want to expand your house. But maybe I can find a way for the this be done through the lab….lol

      You’re not going to believe this…but do believe it. I didn’t bring any watercolors, pastels, acrylics or charcoal with me on this trip. I will have to see what I can do to get some. Or wait till we take a ride to the house for a few days in June. At least I have my digital painting I can do, and ink…yes, it have pens.
      Love and Hugs, xx

    • Hi Cha!
      Yes, we’re having fun…well…we’ve been having fun unpacking and grocery shopping and getting the dogs and Wombies situated. We’ll have our most fun when it warms up a bit more here.
      Missed you my friend!
      Hugs, xx

  22. Hi Deb, now it is time for you to relax and enjoy the sites….. everybody needs to get away at least once a year, and I don’t think to where it matters, just away. Have a great day and stay on your getaway!
    Ed

    • I’m here, and it goes where I go!
      Had a pretty good day all in all getting caught up…but still have more visiting to do to get through my blogroll.
      Now to just get the warm weather so we can start going to the beach regularly and I’ll be all set till Fall.
      Thanks Ed…your the best!
      Hugs, xx

Leave a Comment

