58 comments on “Oil Pastels: Pink Winter Rose

    • Cat, I just viewed you Pink ribbon and I just loved it…Made my eyes well up even. Make this my pink contribution my friend.
      Left you a comment there, but had to use my Google ID, just wouldn’t seem to preview or publish for me with wordpress ID.
      Love and Hugs, xx

  1. Speckling-there is as much valuable creativity in the production of a work as is the creativity of the subject itself. Esp multi media. Experimentation gives anyone’s work unique quality.

    • Thank you, Carl! I was just about to put all the oil pastels, and thought why not just go for a little camouflage to distract the eyes from the parts that bother me…Seemed to work out. Thank you for your support and encouragement, Carl!
      Hugs, xx

  2. Hi Deb, I’m going to spend some time here, now…this painting is beautiful. I love the softness of it and of course, the pastel pink shade…we have had such a warm winter, it has felt like spring, so this is perfect for me, thank you! 🙂 Sending hugs…

    • You are!…Thank you Lauren! I always enjoy your company here.
      With the weather so nice, I was driven to post this painting to share with everyone. I’m so glad you like it.
      Look around all you want, my friend. My home is your home.
      Hugs, xx

  3. Deb its so beautiful..One of my fav….
    .something from my heart for this beauty-
    “and in my journey in the dark water
    i found a pink hope
    It warmed my heart
    spread happiness around
    like a friendly hug
    a kind hand
    and i felt blessed again”
    -Somkritya

    • Oh Soma, that was just beautiful…Thank you. I will always cherish that poem to go with this painting…You are so kind.
      I’m very glad you like the painting!
      Hugs, Deb xx

  4. This one is really beautiful. It is so strange to see this spring like-winter we have been having. I mean we are swatting bugs in January.

  5. A thing of beauty – this is art! wonderful contrasts and exquisite delicacy. I am glad you did not wait to post this, a touch of spring that lifts the sagging spirit this time of the year.

  6. A beautiful piece Debbie – kind of like a flower as it started to snow – it’s snowing here as i write, but I doubt if it is cold enough to stay…

    Love and hugs!

    Prenin.

    • The background closest to the leaves when in last, Some of the leaves I had ended up smaller, and some disappeared all together for severe error that showed one the black was moved to the edges. Meaning if I had to go back to fix the leaf a lot of the light became dark and muddy, or was next to impossible to fix, so I would black it out. Trust me, I had a lot more leaves on there to begin with, and another rose…She’s solo now. But to answer your question a bit more direct. If you want the light to show, you need dark, very dark…I just kept reapplying. I hope that answered your question, Carol!
      Thank for the lovely comment!
      Hugs, xx

  7. Incredible Deb! I love this one. It’s like so simple, but with great quality. Hey, have you ever done one with a butterfly? I have a specific reason for asking and I’d like to see it (even one of the charcoal works)
    Have a great day and sending u hugs!

    • No, I have done a butterfly in any of my mediums, as of yet anyway. But I will be sure to let you know if I do.
      Thank you for such a wonderful comment about my painting, Scott!
      You have a great day too,
      Hugs for you my friend!

  8. If I was an evnious person I would envy your magnificent talent. Instead I will just be thankful that you are willing to share it with the rest of us. Glad I stopped to take time to smell…er view the rose.

    • Aw, Bo, that about the sweetest compliment I’ve ever had on my artwork, and abilities!…Thank you!
      I’m glad you stopped in too, Bo!
      Hugs, xx

  9. Morning Deb and yes today is a beautiful day. Actually went outside in y short pants, is it really winter lol. This is a beautiful painting, I love the glossy look and the fact that the flower seems to be coming outward towards the viewer. Well done 🙂

    • I got mid-afternoon right now, but good day to you, Alonso! It’s like Spring around here today. It sure has been a warm winter this year. Like a southwestern winter.
      I’m glad you like the painting, Thanks you!
      Hugs, xx

  10. -jesteś niesamowita-piękna patelowa róża,gdy u mnie za oknem mróz-20 stopni…
    Róża jest dumna
    Róża się nie obraża
    Tylko pięknem niczym panna nas kusi….pozdrowienia Deb….
    😉

  11. You can be super proud of this one, Deb!!! >It is AH-MAAA-ZING.
    I’m so impressed by your skills. Especially since I think oil pastels are so hard to work with.
    It looks like a beautiful rose in the spaceship to me. 🙂
    Have a wonderful day, Deb. Can you believe it’s already February!??!!

    • Oh my gosh, nearly missed your comment, Cha!
      Thank you my dear! I am so glad you like this one…I worked on it a bit. Speckling helps hide boo boos. I don’t see the spaceship you see though.
      I know, I can’t get over how it is February already!
      Hugs, xx

  12. You should see me right now, Deb… there is quite a bit of glare on my monitor so I went and got a sweatshirt to drape over my head and computer (but it was totally worth to make sure I didn’t miss any of this)! It’s wonderful… great softness to it… I like the flecks, too (they almost remind me of light bouncing off falling precipitation)… another lovely piece, Ms. A!
    🙂

    • Now for someone to go though so much trouble to see my artwork has really just made my day….What a lovely compliment, Bob!! I put the flecks in to hide much of my mistakes that bugged me. hopefully there all well hidden from you and everyone else.
      Thanks you so much, Bob! You’re a good friend!
      Hugs, xx

  13. Hi Debbie!!
    This painting you did is very beautiful – I love it!!
    And I cannot see all the mistakes you are talking about…
    Have a great weekend.

  14. You captured the realness look of this rose Deb. The glossiness on the leaves & the flower are excellent. Another quality painting that looks more like a photo. Well done, it really highlights what a talented artist you are.
    P.S. I showed Michelle your cow painting & she loved it.

    • Thanks Tony! You made my day with such a nice compliment on this one!
      Did she really!…I’m glad. Please tell her I said thank you!
      Hugs, my friend!

  15. Ow wow!! Its beautiful.

    Here’s ah haiku for the painting that I made just by looking at your painting.

    赤い バラ (Akai Bara)
    美しい 花 (Untsukushii hana)
    心 の 絵 (Kokoro no e)

    That’s in Japanese, I can’t do an English haiku yet.
    Translation:
    Red Rose
    A beautiful flower
    A painting of heart (or Heart’s painting)

    Hope you like it Deb 🙂

  16. The rose looks absolutely perfect to me. Pinks my favorite color of rose. Or maybe white…but red is so very elegent…ok maybe no favorite color of rose then, I just love them all! 🙂
    x

    • I can’t think of a women I’ve ever known that did not love a rose. I did know someone that was allergic to them though.
      Thank you for such a lovely comment, Nikki!
      I’m also glad to see you around and about…You being here today, has made my day!
      Hugs, xx

    • I find it very challenging too. Though sometimes I seem to pull a painting off well using it, and other times not…I think it depends on my mood.

Leave a Comment

