34 comments on “Saguaro Cactus and Sunset

  1. It looks like a tree. I know such cactuses only from movies. I’ve never seen them in real.
    I like cactuses, and I imagine that those ones are really beautiful.

    Have a wonderful weekend, Debbie 🙂
    Hugs,
    xx

    • Yes, like a tree…A desert tree, but not really a tree, but a Cacti. You should Google the Saguaro Cactus so you can see how beautiful they are, Sabina.
      Thank you for the comment, Sabina!
      Hugs, xx

  2. I love those colours, Deb. I think sunset is one of my favourite times of the day, and you have captured it brilliantly here. I’ve only seen those cacti on TV, but they always put me in mind of the desert when I see them! 🙂

    • Thank you so much, Tom! I love the desert, thought the heat of it can really be relentless.
      Thanks for coming in to comment!
      Hugs, xx

  3. Saguaro Cactus they are so lovely and I find them facinating they can grow for 75 yrs or so, amazing living beings. we have them here in the south desert, near AZ and Nevada. I live farther North but I love to visit my Mom down in St George. 😀
    You have captured that charm of those beautiful cacti ….warm and hot too! It has been in the 50’s down there, and way below freezing up here.
    We have more in common than I already knew Deb 🙂
    Hugs,
    Rx

    • They are gorgeous, aren’t they! I forget where you live, for some reason Iowa comes to mind…Please correct me on that. I lived in the nasty metropolitan valley, but would escape to the outskirts of town as much as possible to enjoy the desert. One of my brothers lives in Scottsdale, and has a beautiful view of the desert from his own back yard…He is very blessed with his location. He get the most beautiful sunsets with all the Saguaros silhouetted against the cooling sun.
      We really got to spend more time chatting to each other to learn more about us, my friend. Use my guestbook when you want to chat anytime about anything. I use yours from time to time…Time for me to make better use of it.
      Love and Hugs, my feathery friend!
      Deb xx

  4. Hello Deb! Thank you for your comment on my blog – of course you can use the quote, it would be an honour! 🙂 I’ve been doing some painting myself recently, after a long while, and was thinking maybe I could post it to see what everyone thinks.

    When I look at this though, I feel like some inadequate artist struggling to hold a paintbrush in my hand! How do you do it?! I wish I could make my work look as beautiful as this!

    • I put it up as soon as read your approval!…Thank you!
      I’m glad to hear you have been painting. Yes, post it! We all have to start somewhere. I started out with stick people. If you want to see my older works look around in the archive from when I first started blogging, or better yet, choose one of the old dates like 2006 over there in the “Tag category,” I had to work my way up in my work…And am still learning. I still have a very hard time with watercolors…Some good, some bad, but each is a learning experience. The more you practice at it, the better you will get…This I promise you. Post it, keep a record of your work so you can see how you have come along over time…I will certain be there for your art posts cheering you on, Eve!
      Thank you for the lovely comment about my painting!
      Would you like to hear something strange of me…I’m left handed so naturally I draw and paint with my left hand, but when I do a digital painting, as this one here. I use my right hand….my mouse.
      Hugs to you, my friend, and thank you for commenting!
      Deb xx

    • Lol…Now that is a very generous compliment, Tony! Thank you…Of course it’s my painting….A digital painting.
      You moved to WordPress?! I love it! On my way to see you!
      Thank for the comment, Tony! You really made my day!
      Hugs, xx

    • You are so cute…Cactus is plural and cacti is one. I got leave it though, Cha…I just shows how your personality shines!….As if you needed to learn one more thing today, eh.
      I’m so glad you like this painting. I’m very fond of it for the area I use to live in.
      Hugs, Deb xx

      • Weiiird. In latin cactus is singular… I hesitated with cacti for the plural… it makes more sense to me but I got to follow the rules! 😉
        For once it’s easier in French. Un cactus, des cactus 😉
        Hugs, Cha.

        • Anything is easier than English…Which by the way, is rarely spoken correctly…lol
          My hats off to you for all the learning you do, Cha!…You just keep going, and never stop…You won’t be sorry.
          Hugs, Deb xx

  5. This is truly excellent work Deb 🙂

    Thank you for your very useful ideas
    that you added inside my Guestbook 🙂

    Have a lovely rest of
    evening my great friend 🙂

    Androgoth XXx

    • Thank you, Andro, glad you like this one, because this one is basically another painted memory of my life.
      Glad the idea was useful, my friend.
      And you too have a lovely evening.
      Hugs, Deb xx

    • Aw, There is a a thingy in our dashboard that allows votes, but your words speak far more than a button could ever tell me….Thank you, VW

  6. It’s wonderful, Deb! I haven’t had the opportunity to spend much time in the southwest, but this sure makes me want to visit! That bright, warm sky is definitely calling to me! Beautiful!
    🙂

    • If you love sunsets, then the southwest is where you want to go. Not even the sunsets in California over the sea, nor the sunrises over the east coast can compare. They are a vision to behold.
      Thanks, Sig!
      Hugs, xx

  7. This is exquisite, Deb. I’ve never had the pleasure of visiting the midwest, but it looks so beautiful. You did an excellent job of capturing the feel and warmth of the location.

    • This painting here is a depiction of the Southwest, but I bet you meant that anyway. If you ever get the chance to visit, don’t pass up the chance. You will enjoy it…It’s nice change. Hey, your not too far from this area where you live. Run over there, you would be there in 6-8 hours drive.
      Thanks you for the comment about my painting…That was lovely!
      Hugs, xx

    • Nothing wrong with that, Novroz! There are many cowboys that live out there.
      Thank you for the lovely comment, Novroz!
      Hugs, xx

  8. So warm and wonderful this painting Deb. I love it! Sometimes I think about moving to someplace nice and warm and sunny all year long, I imagine you had that when you lived there? Do you miss that kind of weather now? I’m so sorry about your husband hon.
    Big hugs

    • Nothing to be sorry about. It was a long time ago, and I’m at peace about it…He’s in good hands now.
      I miss the desert for it’s beauty, and the sunsets. I also miss the moderate temps in the winter. But I do not miss the summer heat…It is relentless. Most people stay indoor in the summer unless they do what they have to, or love to in the morning while it’s still between 90 degrees and 102 degrees. Once it gets past that….and I assure you it does, like an average of 115 degrees, but has been up to 122 degrees. But I did live there for such a long time it is still home for me. I guess really because I have family there.
      Thanks Nikki!
      Hugs, xx

Leave a Comment

