47 comments on “Castaway

  1. loved it,a boat all alone in the ocean looking for company. …and for some strange reason it reminded me of pirates of carribian
    (remember the portion where the ship went upside down ,it was magical )

    • I guess it could be symbolic for that…I like that title, “Drifting, or Drifter. ” Great idea you gave me there.
      Thanks for commenting, Jeremy!
      Hugs, Deb xx

  2. I think it’s great. It reminds me of a children’s book adventure.
    The sky is cool. Almost like a mind trick. Blurry but not really blurry.
    I also like the contrast and minimal color. Inky black water. White sky.

    • Aw, Curis, that is so nice of you. You have truly encouraged me…I appreciate that.
      Thanks for taking the time to comment, Curtis!
      Hugs, Deb xx

  3. Thanks Debbie .. I thought of you too .. Have a lot of work now and only have time to respond to your comments at times .. But it gets better in a month about .. Have a magical day Hug Nicki

  4. It’s OK Deb – a lonely boat on a dark and polluted sea! LoL!

    Don’t worry love – everything is practice and you do plenty of that… 🙂

    Love and hugs!

    Prenin.

    • I know it’s all practice, and that is what brings success. It just fell a bit below my expectations.
      Thank you for encouraging me, Prenin…Much appreciated!
      Love and Hugs,
      Deb xx

    • I agee, “warm weather for sure.” I’m glad you like it. I’m allowing it to grow on me as well.
      Thank you, for commenting, Scott!
      Hugs, Deb xx

  5. Don’t be over critical of yourself. I think it looks great. I would love to see the same scene with a big old schooner with ragged sails that make it look adrift. (Sorry… I don’t always just see what is there. I have a vivid imagination.)
    I love it just like it is though.

    • I am my own worst critic…No doubt about that!… But most artist are.
      Maybe next time I can see about getting some of those things in too…Lot of details for that though. I would need more practice first.
      You have a wonderful imagination, Bo!
      Thank you so much, Bo, for being so encouraging, and commenting.
      Hugs, Deb xx

  6. i love anything with the ocean in it… what’s great about this painting was that it was not what i was expecting. it made me ponder and think. and i lost myself in those mysterious clouds… fabulous Deb!

    • That’s good to know, because I’ve got another one on the agenda…Lol. Glad you like it, Cursi, and thanks for taking the time to comment!
      Hugs, Deb xx

    • I see just what you mean, Binky. I feel there could have been just more detail in the sky and water to give it more life.
      Thanks, Binky!
      Hugs, Deb xx

  7. Well I actually like it , it creates an image in my mind
    that could be translated into words , a boat of nowhere
    lost between the sky and seas , carrying the dreams and hopes
    for those who dare to sail between the skies and deep blue seas
    Ian

    • Wow! I am taken by these beautiful words you have offered me about this painting…I love the way you write, Ian!…Thank you so much!
      Hugs, Deb xx

    • You can get it on canvas at my here at redbubble gallery if you like. You just choose if you want canvas, mounted, canvas, or framed.
      Thank you for your comment, Alonso…Much appreciated!
      Hugs, xx

    • I know, I’m my own worst critic…Thank you so much, Cha…You are very encouraging and supportive of me…Thank you for that, and the comment!
      Hugs, xx

  8. I think it’s very nicely done, Deb – I particularly like how you’ve rendered the clouds!
    I’m not that strong a swimmer, though… so I think I’d like to enjoy that wonderful view of the boat out to sea from this great spot on the beach!
    🙂

    • What?! Are you on the beach? Nah, you could be…Could you?
      I’m really glad you like the painting, between you and everyone else. I think I’m learning to be a little less critical of my work…I hope. We’ll see right?
      Thanks, Bob!
      Hugs, Deb xx

  9. I like this, too, Deb! If this is your first try, I dare to be wonderfully surprised at your perfected touch! This can be metaphorical to many different life emotions. Love it! xx 🙂

    • First try painting water with digital painting, yes. I’m sure I’ll be trying my hand at anther one of these one day.
      Thanks, Lauren!
      Hugs, xx

        • I was just thinking. I remember when I felt similar about a drawing I had done a few years ago…Thought next time it would be even better. Turned out that next time did not turn out better, and the first one was a hit…It was just me be critical of my work…So maybe that will be the case with this one too.
          Thank you so much for you comments, Lauren…You help give me a some insight, and of course, encourage me to keep moving forward…Thank you!
          Hugs, xx

    • Oh my, poor Wilson! His face got all washed off, then he was lost at sea…I remember.
      Nope, just a little boat in the water.
      Thanks, Tony!
      Hugs, xx

  10. You did a wonderful job …like how it lights up in the middle.. kind of draws me in.
    So love the ocean..sailing too, it is how I grew up.. lived by the sea and sailed almost everyday.
    but that was back in Ireland.
    Here in Holland you have to be wealthy to own a boat.

    • You have to be wealthy here too to own a boat…At least for what they cost, and what I got is spells that loud and clear to me.
      I’m glad you like the painting. Thanks to you, and my other loyal reader I’ve come to appreciate this painting more than I did when I first completed it….I thank you for that, Tracy!
      Love and Hugs, xx

  11. Pingback: Drifting « Debbie Adams

Leave a Comment

