74 comments on “Birds on a Branch

    • I agree, Binky. Whenever I see them them, no matter day or night, they always seem to be mysterious. Even the feeling when I see them seems mysterious.
      Thanks for commenting, Binky!

      Deb xx

  1. Wow I really love this Deb!! It has such a gothic feel, there’s just something about those birds…and you capture that in your drawing. I love your snowy graphic on the sidebar too, i’ve walked down streets that look just like that, late at night when there’s a blanket of snow…it’s a beautiful feeling.
    Big hugs, Nikki

    • Wow! Thanks so much, Nikki! I hadn’t not done a charcoal drawing in so long that I was not sure I would remember. But your and everyone Else’s comments tell me I still could.

      I’ve walked done streets like this one in the sidebar too. It’s beautiful when it snows.

      Hope to see more of you soon now that you got all your Christmas chores done. You’ve been sorely missed.

      Have a wonderful week ahead of you!
      Hugs, Deb xx

  2. Finally…a new art by Aunt Deb 🙂 …and a new theme too.
    A mysterious drawing. The birds and the background color really give that sense of mystery. I think it looks good as a book cover. (i am talking like my mommy *sigh*)

  3. Greetings Debbie,
    I have seen you around some of my friends blogs and thought I would stop by.
    A very lovely charcoal, I love the color almost like flames rising up into the sun behind the clouds. And I am rather fond of Ravens and Crows.
    Nice place you have here 😀

    • Well I’m so glad you did stop in. And you are always welcome here in my space anytime.
      I’m fond of Ravens and Crows too, I had done a watercolor of a Crow or Raven not too long ago. You can find it in “Wildlife, tagged “Birds.”
      Thank you for such a lovely comment on my drawing….and my space.

      Hope to see you again.
      Hugs, Deb xx

  4. Yay!! I’m always excited to see your latest paintings and drawings, Deb!!!
    I really love this drawing!!! Very beautiful and unique work. Bravo!
    … Oh you know what? I bought oil pastels but I’m just too busy at the moment to use them. Arrrgh… Anyway I hope you’re enjoying your weekend! 🙂
    Cha Xxx

    • Thank you, Cha. You always say such nice things about my work.
      I can’t wait to see what you produce with the oil pastels…I know it will be beautiful!
      Thank you for commenting on my drawing, I’m glad you like it!

      Hugs, Deb xx

  5. Definitely a acary looking scene Deb but I think
    that you have added a fine piece of art work here
    my great friend and thank you for sharing 🙂

    Androgoth XXx

  6. Beautifully done, Ms. A!
    We must be channeling each other (I was just working on a crow the other day – I like yours much better, though – I think it has an almost mystical feel to it)!
    🙂

  7. A Beautiful Drawing Debbie, I am impressed.. there are many talented people here on WP.. Art is so expressive and you have given your birds Life with added mystery..
    Wishing you a Happy Day.. And you have a lovely site here.. ~Dreamwalker

    • Hiya, Sue…Nice of you to pop in to see me. Thank you for “like” clicks on some of my other artworks as well.
      I’m glad you like this one. I get more fond of it all the time.

      I hope you have a Happy Day too, Sue,
      Thanks for coming in, and the comment.
      Deb ox

    • I am so pleased that you like it, Leslie!…and favor it too. You made my day!
      I had done a charcoal drawing in so long that I wondered if I would remember how to work with charcoal.
      Thanks for popping in to have a look, and the comment too!

      Deb xo

  8. This is a cool piece, Deb. I like the contrast between the dark birds and the somewhat lighter background. You’re steadily perfecting your craft.

    • Thank you, George. I had waited all summer long to have a chance to do a charcoal drawings…It was quite enjoyable.
      Thanks for commenting!

      Deb xx

  9. I hate to be redundant, but this is a beautiful picture. I can think of several books it would be a wonderful cover for, but then I can also see it framed and hanging in a gallery.

    Terrific piece of art.

    • Miss Demure, you are too kind for all the things you told me about my art piece. It gives me even more inspiration and motivation.
      I’m so happy you like it!
      Thank you for popping in for a visit and the comment!

      Hugs, Deb xx

  10. I am just calling by to thank you for those wonderful pressies that you sent me Deb, thank you and I have added them to my Gifts 04 page 🙂 I hope that your day has been a wonderful one so far and that your evening will be even better 🙂

    This charcoal drawing is truly excellent and those two birds are great 🙂

    Androgoth XXx

  11. I really like this one too! it does remind me of autumn or halloween ( kind of spooky) wish it still was fall, not freezing time over at my place. thanks for sharing !

    • Hi Faythe, nice to see that you dropped in…
      Yes, it is a good one for the Fall season.
      I’m glad you like the painting.
      Thanks for coming in to comment1
      Hugs, Deb xx

  12. This is one of my favorites. The loose and organic lines of the two forms in opposition, coupled with the masterful use of dark and light really create a strong sense of mystery and magic. This is incredible!

    • You always so have a way with words…I love it!
      It’s actually one of my favorite too. I’m so pleased that you like this one too!

      Deb xx

    • Thank you!
      Hey, I started somewhere, you can too…Just practice.
      Thanks for popping in for a visit, and the comment…Hope to see you again.
      Deb xx

  13. I never really thought of it before.. the difference of a crow and a raven, are they not the same.. none the less this painting is wonderfully done, you are so talented!

    • They look the same to me, but, well you know…Details, details…lol
      Thank you for the comment on this one. I like this one a good bit, and I’m glad you do too.
      Hugs,
      Deb xx

Leave a Comment

