71 comments on “Watercolors: Drive Home

  1. It is extremely scenic where you live, Deb. I’m really missing the beauty and simplistic nature of the south these days. I can relive and relish such beauty through your paintings. Thank you, Deb. 🙂

    • Thank you George, that’s such a nice thing to say.
      I love the south and the mid-Atlantic too. There is so much beautiful nature to see…More than I will see in my lifetime.
      Thanks for commenting, George!

      Deb xx

  2. Glad you got home and safe hun – the rock ding is an easy fix, but get a quote for replacing the windshield just in case! 🙂

    Love the pictures – very relaxing! 🙂

    Love and hugs!

    Prenin.

    • Yes, we got home safe.
      We’ll get a quote on both this week before we decide anything.
      Glad you like the paintings, and thanks for commenting!

      Love and Hugs,
      Deb xx

    • Yes, amazing huh…lol. No really, I’m sure there is much detail that I didn’t remember, but these were the visions I recalled.
      Thank you for such a lovely comment!

      Deb xx

  3. Rocks to the windshield, know it well, we have a lot of coal trucks around here and if you’re unlucky enough to follow one, your almost guaranteed to get a chip. Looks wonderful, your a lucky girl to have two such beautiful place to call home. Wonderful Paintings!

    • I don’t know what kind of truck we were behind, I just remember it was big, but not a semi.
      I do call both places home, though the one on Hatteras Island is a 5th wheel we brought that we keep there all year. We spend our time here in the fall and winter…To enjoy the snow?…Thinking….As long as it’s not to much snow. But I guess that is just chance now isn’t it.
      I’m glad you like the paintings, Ryan. And watch out for that Holly tree…:-)

      Thanks for commenting, Ryan!
      Deb xx

    • I know and an expense we were not expecting. But who ever expects that to happen. Insurance ought to take care of it.
      I’m glad you like the paintings, Tony!

      Thanks for commenting!
      Deb xx

    • Hi Sabina,
      Still a little behind on things. I guess it’s more work here at home than in the 5th wheel on that Island…lol
      I’m really glad you like the paintings. Especially you liking the second one more…I wasn’t sure if it had turned out that well.
      Thank you for commenting, Sabina!

      Hugs,
      Deb xx

    • Actually the green I saw was on our way home. When I got home most of all the leaves have turn to the brown tones, dry and brittle.
      The first one is my favorite too. Thank you, Keith!

      Deb xx

  4. Hi Deb, it’s good to know you’ve arrived home safe and sound, except sorry about the windshield ding.
    It must have been a lovely drive with such beautiful scenery to paint, they’re both gorgeous.
    Big hugs, Nikki

    • Hubby still needs to make some calls about that windshield too. But he’ll get it taken care of.
      The drive home is lovey, and just as lovely when we go there. I’m glad I don’t have to do the driving. That way I get to see all the scenery.

      Glad you like the paintings, Nikki!
      Hugs,
      Deb xx

  5. You have done a wonderful duo here, I especially
    like the top watercolour best but both are excellently
    painted my great friend, and the colouring is wicked,
    well I rather like them anyway 🙂

    Have a fun Wednesday now Deb 🙂

    Androgoth XXx

    • Thank you, Andro. I’m most fond of the first one too. I love mountains.
      I’m a bit behind in my replies, as you can tell. So I will home for you a wonderful Thursday my good friend.

      Deb xx

  6. Glad to hear you got home safe.
    I like both your pictures, but I prefer the bottom one. I like the textures of the low shrubs in that one.

    About 50% of the leaves are still on the trees here. The colors seem a bit muted this year, though. We had a very wet spring, and a very dry summer.

    • Yes we got home with out any trouble, outside of the ding on the windshield.
      You like the second one? I wasn’t sure if it had came out that well so this is very good news for me to hear…Thank you, Binky!

      There was a lot of rain here at home. The sink hole in my yard in one of the tell tales of that, plus that is all we heard when we got back.
      Are you leaves still full of vibrant colors? Ours are mostly brown now.

      Deb xx

  7. I love scenery art and you do it so well. I think I would love to have landscape murals on all my walls. I know you are glad to be home. It takes a while to catch up with everything so just take it easy.

    • Yes, I’m glad to be home, but we don’t seem to stay here as long as we do in the 5th wheel where we were. So there is a bit more work to do around here, though it stays cleaner much longer than a 5th wheel which is so nice for a change. Glad you understand my recent absence, Bo. You’re understanding…Thank you.

      I’m glad you like my paintings too, Bo!

      Deb xx

  8. Glad to hear you arrived home safely 🙂
    I like the fact that you still manage to paint something even thou you sounds busy. Both paintings are great but I like the second one more…more green.

    • Oh my yes! I just had to take a break and do something for me that was fun and not house and yard work. though those things can be fun sometimes…Just not all at once…lol
      Seems like more people feel like you so far, Novroz, “They like the second one.”

      Thank you for commenting my dear friend.
      Hugs for Kame and Kroten, and tell them to come by and visit me. Aunty misses them.

      Hugs,
      Deb xx

      • We miss you too Aunt Deb…mommy been controlling the PC too often!!
        I think mommy loves the second one because she loves green things…even her pets used to be green 😉

        • Are you not green anymore, Kroten?
          You are so funny, sometime mommies like what kids (pets) have today, because we did not have them when we were kids. Mommy is having fun. You just have to take the computer when she goes to the bathroom or gets dressed…Maybe even when she is cooking. All I know is you best find your way over here. Aunt Deb gets sad when she does not see her little Kroten over here in her space. k
          I’m so glad you came in today. I was missing you so much, Kroten!
          Aunt Deb xx

        • You did? Both of you changed color?….Hmmm. We will have to see what the winter time brings to me this time. Is your mommy going to post new pictures of you with your new colors?

          Aunt Deb xx

  9. Great work Deb, I think the two Watercolours compliment each other so well, such picturesque scenery always make my eyes linger and wish I could be there… but, at least I can see it all through your eyes. I am so glad you had a safe journey, my friend, and that the windscreen crack is easily mended.. hugs.. xPenx

    • Pen, what is the scenery like around you? Are you in a city with streets and a lot of cars, or on the outskirts of town where things are more quiet?… I was just wondering.
      I’m glad you like the paintings. You are the first to say they compliment each other. You always say such special things to me…Just like your poems that are so special.
      Windshield should get fixed soon…I hope.
      Cici is getting along just fine around here…I think she likes the larger space around her.

      Thanks for coming in, Pen, can commenting!
      Hugs
      Deb xx

    • Yes, I’m back. More to do here at home than at the beach though….Hmmm ya think I ought to stay there…lol
      I’m glad you like the paintings, Cha. I’m sure I forgot all about a lot of the nature in these scenes, but there how I remember them.
      I stare and begin to imagine the area, then I put up my handy frame fingers and look through to see how it will go on my work surface. Try it.
      Thank you, Cha, and thanks for coming in to comment!
      Deb xx

  10. The depth in these two paintings is what struck e first and foremost, Debbie. I also like the soft colors you used. ……and from memory? Awesome!
    Welcome back to your winter abode, Deb. How nice to have two places to call your own.

    • Thank you, Leslie. I was just tell Cha about how I go about doing it from memory. Right up there above your post. It’s not easy, if even possible to remember everything, but I try to get down on paper whatever stood out and stays in my minds eye.
      Yes, two homes, sorta. But you do know the one on Hatteras Island is just our parked 5th wheel on a rented lot. But yes, as small as it may be I can still call the place home too. But I got to admit. I sure do have a ton or more space here at my house in comparison…lol. Elbow space, room to walk, Kitchen table for eating and not for everything. My own art space. It’s wonderful to be home…and my yard. Oh how I missed my yard.
      Back to the paintings. It was rather an experiment to go with such soft colors. I’ve seen it done so much by other artists, and thought I’d give it a try. I was please with the results. I like the first one the best.
      Thank you for coming in to comment, Leslie. And I hope your busy life is getting just a bit slower for you these days. But then again, all the holiday coming now. Ha!

      Deb xx

  11. These are both great, Ms. A…
    very calm (which I really appreciate)!
    I hope things are calming down a bit, and you’ll have a bit more time to relax (and create more wonderful pieces)!
    🙂

    • It does wonders to my soul that you find them calming…Thank you!
      Things are calming down a bit around here. We’re getting caught up on the clean up from being away for a while.
      I certainly am looking forward to getting more painting done this winter, And hopefully, some charcoal drawings.

      Thanks for coming in, Bob and commenting. The pleasure is always all mine.
      Deb xx

  12. Beautiful paintings! I really like the way you do those distance fade outs as well as the texture in the leaves and plants and the soil in the foreground. Also the use of the reds and yellows amidst the greens and browns.

  13. Oh how I love the little Autumn window you’ve added to your page! 🙂
    I hope you did end up getting to see some beautiful fall colors when you got home.
    Wish you a great weekend Deb.
    Big hugs, Nikki

    • Oh Nikki, I missed most of it. I think that is what prompted me to find that little window of the fall leaves in my sidebar. I’m glad you like it too!
      Thank you for coming in to visit me. It’s always so nice to see and hear from you.

      Bug Hugs,
      Deb xx

  14. lovely paintings debbie hope you get the w screen fixed without any problems i had a chip out of mine i ended up with a whole new windscreen the filler kept falling out of the hole so if it was me id get a new screen xxjen

  15. Hiya Debbie, really nice of you to drop by, much appreciated.

    Just gazing at these paintings they invite me to come sit where everything is so clean and soft.
    I think I will plug my headphones into a tree and lissten to the bird songs instead 🙂

    Btw my site is set back to private as halloween event is over now. I wil try to send you and invite..but it does not always work so should you not get it..then do please aply.

    Hope you have a good week ahead..with not too many costs for the car window.
    Hugs Traceyxx

    • I don’t remember every detail, just general shapes and certain things that stood out. I’m sure you remember things the same way. I imagine when we drive by the area again I will think my painting look quite different of the real thing.
      Glad you like them, Carol, and thank you for coming in…It’ been a while. I will have to swing on over to your space to see what may be new.
      Deb xx

  16. Stunning, just stunning. What a hand for art you have, and words. I caught you from Prenin’s page. What a wonderful vision to have dropped in.

  17. Hi Deb, Thanks so much for your Thanksgiving Day gifts! That was so sweet of you, and I love getting them!:-) Is the holiday on this weekend? I know it’s a huge American holiday, almost big as Christmas!
    Happy Thanksgiving to you sweet Deb, I hope you and your family have a wonderful celebration.
    Big hugs, Nikki

    • It is celebrate the last Thursday of November.
      I’m so glad you enjoyed your gifts, Nikki, but not as much as I enjoyed you stopping in to see me.

      Nikki? will you being having a Christmas Guestbook Event this year, as you did with Halloween?

      You have yourself a most wonderful weekend.
      Love and Hugs,
      Deb xx

  18. oooh I don’t know hon, I’ve been thinking it would be good but I need another week or so to get some other projects done before I’ll know if I’d have time. Knowing me i’ll throw myself into doing it again though lol. I’m so glad you added your birthday Deb. I had just been thinking that there are no additions lately and none for Dec or Nov and I wondered if new friends noticed the page. So glad to have you there and i’ll bring you something on the big day. xo

    • You are so sweet Nikki.
      I didn’t mean to put you on the spot. If you don’t have time to do it, then do not give yourself too much to do. All of this we do here is for our spare time and pleasure.
      Love and Hugs,
      Deb xx

  19. Sorry to hear about your cracked windshield, I hate it when that happens!
    But your pictures beautiful, I particularly like the second one! 🙂

    • Thank you…Husband still needs to fix that.

      Thank you for the comment on my paintings. I’m glad you like them, and thanks for commenting, Colleen!

      Deb xx

      • I visited Destin this summer, and my favorite part was the late-night walks on the beach…It was so easy to clear my mind and think and pray. I think that Jesus blesses us with nature, because it takes away from distractions and focus totally on Him!

  20. Pingback: Turtle Fact #8: Changing Shell Color | Underneath The Shell

Leave a Comment

