59 comments on “Watercolors: The Crow

  1. When grandad had the farm we used to have to watch out for the dogs because our neighbour used to poison lamb carcases to kill crows which are carrion feeders.

    In the end grandad’s dog Black Bob – a lovely spirited animal – had its guts shot out by the neighbour while he was on a long leash and on granddads land.

    He was caught trying to put lambs wool in the dog’s teeth!!!

    To this day he is reviled in the area and can’t get custom from ANY of the local businesses because of his extreme behaviour!!!

    Love and hugs!

    Prenin.

  2. Gorgeous and very dramatic painting! Love the starkness of it! Personally I do not subscribe to the “bad” reputation attributed to these birds. Being supremely intelligent these birds can probably outsmart the people who attribute negative qualities to them. I can go on and on describing amazing behaviors they display that I personally observed. Crow is my favorite bird – all year around, not only the Halloween :).

  3. loved this yes ravens crows are unfortunate to get labelled with the dark side when eally they are inteligent animals and if trained can actually be learned to talk like the minah bird xxjen

    • I feel they look very cool as a silhouette in the moonlight, giving it a rather eerie effect. And they are fun to use for Halloween for that reason, but for that only reason.
      My mother had a mynah bird as I was growing up.

      Thank you for the comment, Jen!
      xx

  4. You have certainly captured the mood with this fine
    offering Deb and as for these birds both having been
    considered birds of ill omen for centuries have you
    ever thought of another possible reason for this finding?
    NO… Well if one is unlucky enough to be splattered
    by one of their darker flying skills then it is no wonder
    at all why these birds have been tagged with such
    wickedness 🙂 😉 lol

    Have a wondrously excellent weekend
    now and be good too, if you can I mean? 🙂 lol

    Androgoth XXx

  5. I really like this one, especially how the crow is silhouetted by the moon diffused by the clouds. A very effective technique. I assume you paint the sky in first, and then paint the silhouette on top of that?

    • In all my other silhouettes, yes, I painted or drew the background in first. This one, I had drawn in the crow and branch in first. After looking at it, it gave me an idea for a background, which I then applied with the watercolors.
      Than you for the comment about my painting, Binky!

      Deb xx

  6. You painted that?! Wow! That’s great!
    I saw a raven at the grand canyon that was so tame it sat on a tree at almost arms length and posed for pictures as the tourists gathered. It was huge. The squirrels at the canyon are also very tame.
    In Austin we have grackles. The females are brown but the males look like little crows.
    They are considered pests and are abundant like pigeons. They can be noisy but otherwise I really like them.

    • Sounds to me like you had a great time at the Grand Canyon…you have a precious memory. 😉
      I had to Google Grackle…I had never heard of them…interesting.
      I like a crow far more than a pigeon.

      Thank you for the wonderful comment about my painting!

      Deb xx

  7. A darkly atmospheric and striking painting Deb, and your poem added so much to the experience. .. I was known as Crow Woman, when I first took My Bess walking through the local woods, I would take any spare bread and they would flock when they saw me coming… You have reminded me of such a happy time and the memory has lifted my day…My thanks to you , my lovely friend. xPenx

    • It warms my heart to know I caused you to reflect back on such a lovely memory with you and Bess. I think it’s cool that you were known as “The Crow Woman.”
      I’m glad you like both the painting and the poem!
      More bright days are coming, Pen. Thank you for commenting!
      Deb xx

  8. A beautiful page here. You’re full of creativity. I loved about the crow and raven, and have to confess I thought they were the same.

  9. AWESOME painting!!! I have to check what’s the difference in French ’cause I don’t remember. We have the same “problem” I guess. Everyone would call this “un corbeau” (I’m sure you’re glad to know this lol). But I don’t know…

    Well, it doesn’t matter. This watercolor is really BEAUTIFUL, Debbie. Looks like a real photo. But such a stylish photo!

  10. One of my favorites so far, Ms. A… WOW!
    Not only do I like the silhouette (of course), but the mood created by your atmospheric effects are truly spectacular!
    You have masterfully created layers of depth here… it truly feels like you could walk right into this piece!
    And the light filtering through it all… spectacular! I LOVE this!
    🙂

  11. A true Masterpiece Deb. It could easily be mistaken for a photo.Great job. I absolutely love birds, all types from the little sparrow to majestic eagles & everything in between.I think crows & ravens with their jet black plumage are beautiful creatures.Very misrepresented birds indeed.
    P.S. I copied your Gravatar to use for my “Featured Site Of The Week”. Hope you don’t mind

    • I just saw this comment. I’m so sorry I missed it, Tony! I’m feel terrible for that. No, of course I don’t mind. I was delighted when I saw me on your site as “artist of the week,” You are a real gem, my friend!

      It’s so true that the crow gets a bad misrepresentation…. They’re awesome birds.

      Glad you like the painting, Tony! And thank you for such a lovely comment, my friend.
      Hugs,
      Deb xx

  12. Looking at this on my phone. Can’t wait to get to work so I can see it on my computer. It would make a great movie poster or book cover because it kinda reaches out and grabs you. Awesome. You are one talented lady.

    • Now that is quite a compliment, Bo. It would be cool to see my artwork on a book cover.
      When I look at this painting it reminds me of the movie, “The Birds,” by Alfred Hitchcock.
      Thank you for such a kind comment, Bo!
      Deb xx

    • Thank you for visiting and the lovely comment! Have a wonderful day!
      Deb xx

      Translation:
      Vielen Dank für Ihren Besuch und den schönen Kommentar! Einen schönen Tag noch!
      deb xx

  13. Hi Deb,
    This painting is so great, …in the light of darkness’ beautifully fitting poem for your beautiful painting.
    I use a lot of ravens and crows in my graphics, it’s true they are well suited to the darker side of things, I cant resist them.
    Hugs, Nikki

    • They thought of that way, they may not deserve it, but they are. BTW: Love your graphics, Nikki!
      Thanks for coming by and commenting, Nikki!
      See you soon…
      Deb xx

  14. yes, it is connected with many cultures of the world. In our place, it is considered as representatives of the ancestors.. nice gloomy painting

    • The seem to get used a bit around this season, but they are really and interesting bird. I’m glad the painting looks gloomy. I wanted it to look rather…dark.
      Thank for commenting, Princess!
      Deb xx

    • They certainly are beautiful. They seem so regal with there sleek black feathers.
      I’m glad you like the painting, and thank you for coming in to see my blog and commenting, Colleen!
      Deb xx

Leave a Comment

