45 comments on “Oil Pastels: Jack in the Box

  1. It has sort of, “come here to the UK with the kids smashing your windows and yelling abuse on your intercom if you don’t give them money” – forget chocolate and sweets!

    Love and hugs!

    Prenin.

  2. I had never heard of that painting so I had to look it up. Your version is quite interesting and quite appropriate for Halloween. A ghoulish jack in the box.

  3. Now if that figure was in a Jack In The Box I’d just opened Deb, I’d jump a mile… It certainly has a dark look of sheer menace. .. and round our way, the children seem to have given up Door to Door candy collecting, such a shame as I had to eat all the sweets myself… 😉 yummy… (of course I didn’t take the batteries out of the door bell. now would I? 😉 ) have a great Tuesday Deb. xPenx

    • Haha, you and me both, Lady Pen. I’d would never expect anything looking like that to jump out!

      When I was a kid we could go door-to-door, and at night too. I’d take a pillow-case for my candy collection, and back then it was the full-size candy bars, not this little stuff. But now days most kids can only go to the homes of those they know, and while it is still light outside, with adult supervision.
      People have to ruin everything with crime! It’s a shame too, it was my most enjoyable holiday as a child.
      Of course you took the batteries out…you don’t want the creeps of today bothering you…don’t you open that door now.
      You have a great evening, and a bright tomorrow, Lady Pen!

      xx

  4. Ahah happy to see another work in oil pastels! I really like it, I cannot explain why but I really do!
    As for Halloween I would love to celebrate it the way Americans do… French people have been trying to celebrate it for many years now, but I’m sure we cannot compare our Halloween to yours. I mean that’s typically American and not as important as it is to you. But as I looooove the USA I’d love to celebrate it there someday (I’ve had a few American teachers and they all told me how great it was and seemed really excited about it lol). Must be a lot of fun!!!

    • You could always put together your own Halloween party and invite your family and friends to come, dressed up in costumes.
      You must give oil pastels a try. I know you would be excellent at with them.
      I’m glad you like the painting, Cha!

      xx

  5. i love the box most babies get a scare with an ordinary jack in the box lol id love that one in my gothic house good colours too xxjen il take some pics of jeanas latest work to sell for wgw xxjen

    • I know, It would be child cruelty to let this thing pop out of a box for a baby…better gag for an unsuspecting teen or adult.
      I put you one my blogroll, though I did that a month ago…

      xx

  6. Another quickie, or did this one take a
    while to paint Deb? It is definitely a nice
    piece of artistry and one can only wonder
    what you will be adding for Halloween,
    perhaps a Frankenstein would be a
    Ghoulishly fine idea? 🙂 Well maybe? 😉

    Androgoth XXx

      • You are very welcome my wickedly fine friend,
        I am still trying to fathom one of the other comments
        that was made regarding your ‘Faceless’ offering, if
        I didn’t know better I would think that he was being
        rather cheeky, but hey some peeps are just ignorant
        and unwelcoming 🙂 lol Never mind there is always
        one isn’t there, or perhaps he was just joking 🙂 lol

        Have a wicked rest of evening now Deb 🙂

        Androgoth XXx

  7. Sadly, I have to admit I was unfamiliar with Aleksej Cvelov’s work – but I had a lot of fun looking it up… and I have to say your interpretation is very, very nicely done, Ms. A! Of course that comes as no surprise! Amazing work (as always)!
    🙂

    • Oh Bob, I’m so sorry. I meant to put the links in on the post after Binky had to look up the artist’s box….my bad. I put it in now. Sure, now that you looked it up.
      I’m glad you like the interpretation of mine…it came out thinner, but that is fine with me.
      Thank you for your kind comment, Bob!

      xx

    • Ooh, surreal! I like that!
      I’m really glad you like it, and thanks for coming by my space today. I recognize from Binky’s site. I’m on my way to visit you now.
      Thanks for comment, Jenn!
      Deb xx

  8. I like this guy, the expression you have on “Jack”is perfect. I see elements of classic art in this; I don’t know my art history like I should, it;s been a long time so I can’t place the period. But it’s there. I think the idea of painting a hack-in-the-box was very original. It’s a great opportunity to play with expression. I could see a series of these. Very, very cool.

    • I left a link up top in the original post to the artist who did it originally. Mine is just my interpretation of their work. But I’ve been pondering some ideas of my own of something like this.
      Thanks for the comment, Charles! You have just revived the pondering of it in me.

      Hugs,
      Deb xx

Leave a Comment

