18 comments on “Pen and Ink: Pelican

  1. Yes this drawing of yours certainly does have character, and you have drawn this Pelican very well indeed, you know the other week I saw a Stork land in my neighbour’s garden, which surprised me a lot, in fact I hadn’t realised how big those birds are close up…

    Thank you for sharing your wonderful art with us all Deb…

    Androgoth Xx

    • Pelicans are quite large birds. The ones that graced my presents was about the size of toddlers; huge birds. They remind me of prehistoric birds.
      Your welcome, and thank you for the comment, Andro.

  2. This is so regal looking and you brought out the best in this species, I think, their neck. I like, most, watching them fly. I call what they do “swooping”. I have watched them follow fishing boats in at the end of the day, swooping low over the water behind the boat. …looking for handouts, perhaps? Excellent drawing Debbie.

    • Yes, that’s just the word for what they do, Leslie, “swoop.” Smiling big, “They can sure hold a lot of fish in there too.” I’ve had them land on the hood of the truck and just sit there awhile, hand around the truck hoping my husband with throw them a little something when he’s baiting up.

      Thank you for the wonderful comment, you have made my day, Leslie!

    • Oh Hi! I know you..I’ve seen you at Binky’s place, the Wombania Comic Strip. So nice of you to come check out my artwork.
      That is a lovely comment you made, Thank you, Hjortur!
      I’m off to check out your site.

  3. Wow…that’s awesome. He looks like a thinker.
    Maybe one day I can be drawn like that. Kame has been drawn before, I haven’t.

    Have you ever drawn a turtle aunt Debbie? (Since I am only 3 years old,I have to call you aunt)

    • Aw, thank you, Kroten!…You made my evening for me.
      Maybe you can be drawn one day, but to date I have not yet drawn a turtle. But I have given it though before.

      You may call me aunt Debbie…..cute.

      • Well I don’t know when it will be, but I’m sure you will know just as soon as I do…when I so.
        Yes, they have many patterns. Here on the Island we have many turtles. Some times on the way to the beach we have to stop in the road to let a turtle cross the road. I want to get out of the truck and move him/her across for taking so long. lol.
        Are you poky too?

        Hugs,
        Aunt Debbie xx

Leave a Comment

