10 comments on “Learning Watercolors

  1. Holy Cow Deb! My hat is off to you! I would have made something that resembled a mud pie! I love the rich earthy tones, way to go!

  2. You have the grasp of what watercolours are about and i like this study.
    Time will develop your skills.
    Carol is already quite a talented water colourist.
    I probably couldn’t have done this, personally i find watercolours really challenging.
    Great study

  3. I have absolutely no advice for you. This is amazing!!!! Your greens are lovely with the browns and ochres. The splash of blue is exciting. You controlled the color while letting it be what it is…watercolor.

    I think you did a fabulous job! Thank you for picking my watercolor to work from.

    I changed my mind…I will give you advice. And that is to do more watercolor. Brava!

    • Wow, now I know I’ve done well being it was your artwork that I worked from, thank you for that, Carol. I will take your advice and do more watercolors.
      Thank you for the comment, Carol!

  4. I am going to give you the same advice as Carol! More!
    Your colors have run together wonderfully and this piece is not unlike what the eye sees while looking at a lilly pond. Boy, is this image receiving a ton of attention!
    Don’t try to control but allow it to flow. Yes, the amount of water you use will determine what your painting will look like. You could do this image ten different times, while learning, and they would all be different.
    For those who want some extra help in my classes, I recommend “Getting Started” by John Lovett. He is not boring and does not mess up his directions with a lot of wordiness. He, also does not set you on a path of heavy-handed control.
    If you truly decide you wish to have more control with this medium there is a technique called drybrushing. That is working with watercolor and less water. I am not very good at it but the artists that use it a lot have lovely results, Debbie.
    Bravo! You can feel really GREAT about your first attempt!

    • I will go more watercolors, I promise. I intend to try more this evening after dinner. I am so excited with the feedback I have been getting. It is very inspiring and great for the confidence in working with watercolor that I have been lacking. Between you, Carol, Ryan and Keith I have been able to buck up and try this medium. All of you are fine artists and I have learned much from all of you.
      I thank you, Leslie for the advice to read “Getting Started,” by John Lovett and have already bookmarked his webpage, and will read all the material.
      I feel much better about the piece I have created from Carols original artwork.
      Thank you for the comment, Leslie!

Leave a Comment

