Oil Pastels: Faceless

22 Sep
P_Faceless

Faceless

I painted this for my friend Andro. It is not of him, nor does it represent him, but is for him.

≈≈

Is this victim of an attack?

Perhaps it had its face torn apart when thinking it was safe to take a walk through the cemetery leaving him/her faceless by a famished ghoul? Maybe the ghoul has just feasted on its victim and has just licked his lips, and wiped the blood off it’s chin to the side of his face, thinking, “that was delightfully bloody.”

It is abstract so you decide for yourself.

51 Responses to “Oil Pastels: Faceless”

  1. Tony McGurk September 22, 2011 at 3:58 pm #

    Could be my wife’s evil twin sister. I better lock the door in case she’s lurking around

    • Debbie Adams September 22, 2011 at 5:20 pm #

      Oh my! I don’t blame you! She might try to, well…you know. Yes, lock the door!

      xx

  2. Binky September 22, 2011 at 4:44 pm #

    He does look rather ghoulish, doesn’t he? A faceless soul, wandering through the night. Now I’ve scared myself! He better not come a knocking on my beach house!

    • Debbie Adams September 22, 2011 at 5:16 pm #

      I don’t think anything can hurt you at your beach house….It’s been blessed. ;-)

      xx

      • Binky September 22, 2011 at 8:20 pm #

        That’s definitely a relief!

      • Debbie Adams September 23, 2011 at 6:07 pm #

        Of course, Binky. No evil will come to you there.;-)

  3. Androgoth September 22, 2011 at 5:50 pm #

    Yes I think that this could be the Phantom of Dark Desires, frequenting the Graveyards to tempt those Wanton Males into an otherworldly existence, hey Deb I hope that your Mitch isn’t outside or he could be hypnotised and taken into her dominion where evil sandwiches are concocted and a feast of delight prepared for the unsuspecting.

    The faceless expression hinting through a nonrepresentational sphere of wickedness that entraps the never-ending fantasies of mortals and brushes the paint upon a new canvas using blood curdling accuracy, once she has the awareness of a wicked male she plunges her bloody fingernails deeply into his psyche, indeed with a glancing metaphor that urges her victim into the web of desire, and once he is tasted, her victim becomes entranced whilst greedily eating all of her ghoulishly presented sandwiches until they are no more…

    Of course this could be just a mirage you know, yes a hallucination of the damned, perchance an unfinished masterpiece, or a male craving enchantment of a Night of a Thousand Ghouls, I mean Girls? Only you can decide on that one :) ;) lol

    Thank you for your wondrously nice painting Deb, I think that this one will add food for thought from so many of your reader base, and how wicked that you have given me the opportunity of deciphering the intricacies of your imaginative nonfigurative artistry…

    Excellent :)

    Androgoth XXx

    • Debbie Adams September 22, 2011 at 6:05 pm #

      Well, I knew if anyone could see something interesting into this faceless figure, it would you. The artwork of your words are not worthy of the the image. For I think it may be frighten as I am now….lol
      You are a master of Ghoulish Horror. ;-)

      Glad you like it, Andro, and thank you for you most interesting comment!

      Have a wicked night,
      Deb xx

      • Androgoth September 22, 2011 at 6:15 pm #

        Thank you my wickedly fine friend, I wonder has your WordPress leading page changed by any chance, I think they are faffing around with the controls again and now I am having to navigate around my own Space differently, even when it comes to signing out so how nuts is that? :( lol

        Maybe just a glitch :) lol

        Thank you for offering this one for me
        Deb and do enjoy a fine rest of evening :)

        Androgoth XXx

      • Debbie Adams September 22, 2011 at 6:23 pm #

        No, mine is still the same…so far. But they are always fooling around with something behind the scenes. I read in a post notification from wordpress this morning that if we are logged out and go to our home page we will see a “Follow Button” that no one can miss. I have even looked yet myself. Think I will now though now that’s it on my mind.
        Hope what ever trouble you may be having can be cleared up rather easily, since it seems like they are a bit slower than they use to be at responding

        Hugs,
        Deb xx

      • Debbie Adams September 22, 2011 at 6:24 pm #

        I almost forgot.
        You are most welcome my dark friend.
        Have a ghoulish night.
        Deb xx

      • Debbie Adams September 22, 2011 at 6:27 pm #

        I didn’t see anything on my blog that looked like a “Follow Button,” Sheesh,

      • Androgoth September 22, 2011 at 6:42 pm #

        I can still navigate around okay but it is a bit different on the controls, not that I am one for getting into a flap over it you understand, but I don’t like them faffing on with it all the same :) lol Still we have to move with the times I guess? :) lol

        Have a lovely evening Deb :)

        Androgoth XXx

      • Debbie Adams September 22, 2011 at 7:02 pm #

        You said, it my friend…we just have to keep up with there forever making changes. Just don’t abandon you site for a week. We might not know how to use it when we returned…lol

        Now for some strawberry swirl ice cream.

        Night, night.
        Deb xx

  4. prenin September 22, 2011 at 6:58 pm #

    Hi Debs! :)

    Your picture reminds me of ‘The Scream’ by Edvard Munch – but then he was Agrophobic while I am a Paranoid Schizophrenic so I have a distinct viewpoint as if the faceless figure is also mine…

    Love and hugs!

    Prenin.

    • Debbie Adams September 22, 2011 at 7:08 pm #

      That’s so awesome, prenin, that you see a bit of yourself in this piece. Now this is just the sort of thing that I’m looking for. Thank you for sharing my friend.

      Debs xx

  5. Sabina Brave September 23, 2011 at 2:30 am #

    Very interesting porrait, Debbie. Really great work.
    XX

    • Debbie Adams September 23, 2011 at 11:11 am #

      Well that is putting it politely…lol. I know it is not an attractive painting, but it is not meant to be. It is to have a dark nature to it. After all, it was made for our dark friend, Andro, and for others for them to decide if victim, predator or self.

      Thank you for coming in to comment, Sabina.

      • Sabina Brave September 23, 2011 at 11:21 am #

        Maybe face isn’t attractive, but painting is. I’m not an expert, but for me it’s really good.
        Thank you for sharing your work.
        Have a wonderful weekend Debbie :)
        xx

      • Debbie Adams September 23, 2011 at 11:25 am #

        You are just so sweet, Sabina. Thank you for coming in to tell me that. You have made my day, Dear.

        Deb xx

  6. penpusherpen September 23, 2011 at 3:02 am #

    Love the faceless quality Deb, as if the viewer can interpret in his/her own way the form and flowing quality without the defining features.. … and for some reason, although it doesn’t resemble me, it reminds me of myself before I’ve ‘put on my face’ of a morning… :-D have a good Friday my friend. xPenx

    • Debbie Adams September 23, 2011 at 10:52 am #

      Great, so glad you like it. I put it out there to see what people would see, hopefully in themselves, such as you have. I see my self as you do too, now that I think about it….lol

      Thank you, Lady Pen, for coming in and commenting.
      Deb xx

  7. dontchawannadream September 23, 2011 at 12:41 pm #

    Now I’m awake, I can comment!
    Interesting work, Debbie. I never paint abstract and I think it’s because I just can’t! Ahah I’m not creative enough. So I admire people who can!!!

    This portrait is really special. I’m a little scared. No lips, no eyes… oohlala. And he/she is possibly a victim!! We’re far away from the Wombies’ Beach House here :D … Or… Maybe it’s not about vampires or other scary creatures… Maybe the painter just forgot to put her glasses on. lol I’m myopic.

    One more thing: you picked the perfect colors for creating this “dark” atmosphere! Bravo

    • Debbie Adams September 23, 2011 at 3:43 pm #

      I have my own theory about abstract painting. I have always said to someone who didn’t know how to paint or what to paint…including myself, that “if you can’t paint, then paint an abstract, how can you go wrong, there a mess.”…lol well, they are kinda. Really, just let your inner child do the painting, she will know what to do.

      Ah, victim, I see that too, maybe some blood where the mouth use to be…or never was. lol And yes, Black, red and oranges do the trick for spooky.

      Hope you had a nice nap, Cha. And thank you for commenting!

      Deb xx

  8. ♡ The Tale Of My Heart ♡ September 23, 2011 at 1:51 pm #

    Love the art work its gota secret…..

    • Debbie Adams September 23, 2011 at 4:00 pm #

      Is that an interpretation? If not, I would love to hear yours

      Deb xx

      • ♡ The Tale Of My Heart ♡ September 23, 2011 at 5:04 pm #

        Interest in that which is hidden and which the visible does not show us. This interest can take the form of a quite intense feeling, a sort of conflict, one might say, between the visible that is hidden and the visible that is present, something like that………

      • Debbie Adams September 23, 2011 at 6:06 pm #

        That is quite an interpretation. It is very honest, and expressive and gives the painting more meaning…
        Thank you for your feedback, it is much appreciated.

        Deb xx

      • ♡ The Tale Of My Heart ♡ September 23, 2011 at 6:58 pm #

        sometimes reasons don’t matter. I think :)

      • Debbie Adams September 23, 2011 at 7:06 pm #

        You are right, sometime they don’t matter. But your interpretation mattered to me. :-)

        xx

      • ♡ The Tale Of My Heart ♡ September 23, 2011 at 7:30 pm #

        thank you :) Zahir

      • Debbie Adams September 23, 2011 at 7:48 pm #

        You are welcome, and also a pleasure to have visit my space.

        xx

  9. spilledinkguy September 23, 2011 at 1:58 pm #

    Spectacular ‘flow’ in your mark-making… it almost feels dream-like…
    impressively vibrant warms and cools / contrasts too!
    Your ability to create a sense of mystery almost reminds me of Munch in a way…
    awesome work, Ms. A! :)

    • Debbie Adams September 23, 2011 at 3:58 pm #

      Well thank you, Bob! That is quite a compliment…Munch, wow. I think his artwork is cool. I have to admit though. I had to Google his name to see who it was, but once I did I could see why you thought that. He has some very interesting pieces of art.

      Well, I’m out of here. I have to go read and study more about him.

      Thank you for the wonderful comment, Bob. It’s always a pleasure when you stop in to see me.

      Deb xx

  10. MC/Curtis September 23, 2011 at 11:58 pm #

    Very cool. Like pulling the mirrored mask from the silent minion and seeing the faceless face of a faceless face! And then, truth revealed, the bad guy tries to explain in some way that makes sense to only him and is otherwise… madness!

    Androgoth looks pretty cool! Also the website changes look great too.

    • Debbie Adams September 24, 2011 at 7:54 am #

      Are you trying to confuse me with that explanation? confused

      Curtis, this is not Androgoth, but painted for Androgoth. I wouldn’t want him to get mad and send a pack of ghouls and zombies your way….Don’t anger the gothman…lol ghoul

      Thanks, I needed another change.

      Deb xx

      • MC/Curtis September 24, 2011 at 7:47 pm #

        I was meaning the Androgoth website looks pretty cool. It’s a bit blood but otherwise.
        I can be confusing… but I enjoyed the unique smileys!

      • Debbie Adams September 24, 2011 at 8:20 pm #

        Ah, yes, Andro does have a bloody site. I have to brace myself before I check out one of his posts, and be careful not to read them before bedtime….don’t want nightmares.

        Confusing huh? Welcome to the club…comes with old age. lol

        Deb xx

  11. jennygoth September 24, 2011 at 4:45 pm #

    i see the painting as a faceless fiend you look into her mind and see all the horrors lurking there if you can avert your stare your saved if you keep staring she absorbs you in and your fate is your locked in there enticing the next poor soul great painting a bit like the reaper with no face hi deb i eventually got here xxjen

    • Debbie Adams September 24, 2011 at 7:43 pm #

      That is a wonderful interpretation, Jen. You know, I think I’ll have to agree with you too. Something about looking at it for a while kinds of takes ya in.

      Glad you finally made it over here, Jen. You know, you are most welcome to come by anytime to visit. I’m glad you like the painting.
      You take care and that sweet dog too. Thanks for coming in and commenting!

      Deb xx

  12. Androgoth September 24, 2011 at 5:48 pm #

    Thank you for the link back to my Space Deb
    and how wicked theme is :) I really like this new
    look of yours as it is very stylish my great friend :)

    Have a delightful rest of evening now and
    a ghoulishly nice rest of weekend also :)

    Androgoth XXx

    • Debbie Adams September 24, 2011 at 8:25 pm #

      No need to thank me, Andro, I wanted to do that for you.
      I’m glad you like the theme, but you know me…I’m liable to change it as soon as I get bored with looking at it.

      You and Jen have a wicked night now.
      Deb xx

  13. Novroz September 24, 2011 at 6:38 pm #

    I think it’s monalisa with her face being eaten by monster ;)
    It looks creepy, nice job Deb

    • Debbie Adams September 24, 2011 at 8:27 pm #

      Ah, so you see a victim…..a rather famous one at that. I like that!
      Didn’t mean to creep you out, lol. Thanks for commenting, Novia

      Deb xx

      • Novroz September 26, 2011 at 9:29 am #

        No worry…I love creepy things. I love Stephen King and write horror occasionally :)

        Hey…maybe I can write a story out of one of your drawings/paintings one day, but it has to wait till the inspiration comes.

      • Debbie Adams September 26, 2011 at 10:34 am #

        That’s right, I forgot about you liking scary books…so do I!
        Oh my!

        Deb xx

      • Novroz September 28, 2011 at 4:11 am #

        I finally made a story out of this painting. Hope you like it :)

  14. Hjortur Hjartarson September 26, 2011 at 9:14 am #

    Begone Evil!
    This one is scary..

    • Debbie Adams September 26, 2011 at 10:21 am #

      Ha ha, it’s suppose to be, Hjortur.
      I bet you left this post in a hurry…lol
      Thanks for commenting, Hjortur!

      Deb xx

  15. vampireweather September 28, 2011 at 7:33 pm #

    Very intriguing image! Beautifully enigmatic and haunted

    • Debbie Adams September 28, 2011 at 8:23 pm #

      Thank you for visiting my space and the lovely comment too.
      Please come again, for you are more than welcome to visit my space.

      xx

Leave a Comment

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 468 other followers

